NCT03959085ClinicalTrials.gov
Inotuzumab Ozogamicin and Post-Induction Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With High-Risk B-ALL, Mixed Phenotype Acute Leukemia, and B-LLy
A Phase 3 Randomized Trial of Inotuzumab Ozogamicin (IND#:133494, NSC#: 772518) for Newly Diagnosed High-Risk B-ALL; Risk-Adapted Post-Induction Therapy for High-Risk B-ALL, Mixed Phenotype Acute Leukemia, and Disseminated B-LLy
In brief
This phase III trial studies whether inotuzumab ozogamicin added to post-induction chemotherapy and immunotherapy (chemo-immunotherapy) for patients with High-Risk B-cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (B-ALL) improves outcomes. Inotuzumab ozogamicin is a monoclonal antibody, which is a type of protein that can…
Phase 35,951 participants sought231 sites5 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT03959085Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 4 weeks ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2019-05-22; recorded start 2019-10-31
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 183 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Children's Oncology Group)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 5 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: research network.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 231 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 5,951 participants (target), run at 231 sites, across 5 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment36/40
5,951 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
231 sites
- Country count7/15
5 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 151 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Children's Oncology Group has led 182 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This phase III trial studies whether inotuzumab ozogamicin added to post-induction chemotherapy and immunotherapy (chemo-immunotherapy) for patients with High-Risk B-cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (B-ALL) improves outcomes. Inotuzumab ozogamicin is a monoclonal antibody, which is a type of protein that can bind to certain targets on the surface of cells. Inotuzumab ozogamicin is a monoclonal antibody that is linked to a type of chemotherapy called calicheamicin. Inotuzumab attaches to cancer cells by binding to the CD22 protein on the surface of the cancer cell and delivering calicheamicin inside the cells to kill them. Other drugs used in the chemotherapy regimen, such as cyclophosphamide, cytarabine, dexamethasone, doxorubicin, daunorubicin, methotrexate, leucovorin, mercaptopurine, prednisone, thioguanine, vincristine, and pegaspargase or calaspargase pegol work in different ways to stop the growth of cancer cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Blinatumomab is a specialized type of monoclonal antibody known as a bispecific T-cell engager (BiTE). It works by simultaneously binding to CD19 on cancer cells and CD3 on normal immune cells, bringing them together to destroy leukemia cells. Blinatumomab is a standard part of chemo-immunotherapy treatment for B-ALL. This trial also studies the outcomes of patients with mixed phenotype acute leukemia (MPAL), and B-lymphoblastic lymphoma (B-LLy) when treated with ALL therapy without inotuzumab ozogamicin or blinatumomab. The overall goal of this study is to understand if adding inotuzumab ozogamicin to standard of care chemo-immunotherapy maintains or improves outcomes in High Risk B-cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (HR B-ALL). The first part of the study includes the first phase of therapy: Induction. This part will collect information on the leukemia, as well as the effects of the initial treatment, to classify patients into post-induction treatment groups. On the second part of this study, patients with HR B-ALL will receive the remainder of the chemotherapy cycles (consolidation, blinatumomab block 1, interim maintenance 1, blinatumomab block 2, delayed intensification, interim maintenance 2, maintenance), with some patients randomized to receive inotuzumab. The patients that receive inotuzumab will not receive part of consolidation or part of delayed intensification. Other aims of this study include evaluating 1) side effects of treatment using patient-reported outcomes and health-related quality of life, 2) the best ways to help patients adhere to oral chemotherapy regimens, 3) the relationship between levels of inotuzumab ozogamicin in the blood and side effects, 4) the impact of chemo-immunotherapy on the immune system and risk of infection, and 5) the impact of social determinants of health on outcomes. Finally, this study will be the first to track the outcomes of subjects with disseminated B-cell Lymphoblastic Leukemia (B-LLy) or Mixed Phenotype Acute Leukemia (MPAL) when treated with B-ALL chemotherapy.
Conditions
- B Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia
- B Lymphoblastic Lymphoma
- Central Nervous System Leukemia
- Mixed Phenotype Acute Leukemia
- Testicular Leukemia
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 365 Days – 25 Years |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 5,951 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Children's Oncology Group Sponsor
- National Cancer Institute (NCI) Collaborators
Arms and interventions
- Arm D (CD 22 positive HR B-ALL)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
See detailed description for Arm D.
- Arm E (CD22 positive HR B-ALL)EXPERIMENTAL
See detailed description for Arm E.
- Arm I (MPAL)EXPERIMENTAL
See Detailed Description for Arm I.
- Arm II (B-LLy)EXPERIMENTAL
See Detailed Description for Arm II.
Interventions
- Procedure Biospecimen Collection
Undergo blood sample collection
- Biological Blinatumomab
Given IV
- Procedure Bone Marrow Aspiration
Undergo bone marrow aspiration
- Procedure Bone Marrow Biopsy
Undergo bone marrow biopsy
- Procedure Bone Scan
Undergo bone scan
- Drug Calaspargase Pegol
Given IV
- Procedure Computed Tomography
Undergo CT
- Drug Cyclophosphamide
Given IV
- Drug Cytarabine
Given IV, IT, or SC
- Drug Daunorubicin Hydrochloride
Given IV
- Drug Dexamethasone
Given PO or IV
- Drug Doxorubicin Hydrochloride
Given IV
- Biological Inotuzumab Ozogamicin
Given IV
- Drug Leucovorin Calcium
Given PO or IV
- Procedure Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Undergo MRI
- Drug Mercaptopurine
Given PO
- Drug Methotrexate
Given IT or IV
- Drug Pegaspargase
Given IV or IM
- Procedure Positron Emission Tomography
Undergo PET
- Drug Prednisolone
Given PO or IV
- Drug Prednisone
Given PO or IV
- Other Questionnaire Administration
Ancillary studies
- Radiation Radiation Therapy
Undergo testicular radiation therapy
- Radiation Radiation Therapy
Undergo cranial radiation therapy
- Drug Thioguanine
Given PO
- Drug Vincristine Sulfate
Given IV
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Post-induction 5-year event-free survival (EFS)
Will compare in a randomized manner the post-induction 5-year EFS for children and young adults with High Risk (HR) B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia (B-ALL) treated with a modified Berlin-Frankfurt-Münster (mBFM) chemo-immunotherapy backbone that includes blinatumomab and replaces Consolidation Part 2 and Delayed Intensification (DI) Part 2 with two blocks of inotuzumab ozogamicin, versus those treated with a full mBFM chemo-immunotherapy backbone that includes blinatumomab and retains Consolidation Part 2 and DI Part 2 without the addition of inotuzumab ozogamicin.
Time frame From study entry to first event (induction failure, induction death, end of induction [EOI] minimal residual disease [MRD] ≥ 5%,EO consolidation [C] MRD ≥ 0.01%, relapse, second malignancy, remission death) or date of last contact, assessed up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
5-year DFS for favorable risk subset of NCI HR B-ALL (HR favorable) when treated with mBFM chemotherapy with a single high-dose methotrexate (HD MTX) Interim Maintenance (IM) phase and treatment duration of 2 years from the start of IM regardless of sex
Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method and standard errors and confidence intervals estimated by the method of Peto. Estimation of treatment effect will be done using ITT analysis based on randomized group.
Time frame From EOC to first event (relapse, second malignant neoplasm, remission death) or date of last contact, assessed up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Incidence of adverse events for the integration of inotuzumab ozogamicin into the mBFM chemotherapy backbone in HR B-ALL
Graded per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. Will be monitored and reported.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
5-year event-free survival (EFS) for patients with mixed phenotype acute leukemia (MPAL) receiving mBFM HR B-ALL therapy that includes a second IM phase with Capizzi escalating intravenous MTX without leucovorin rescue+pegaspargase or calaspargase pegol
Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method and standard errors and confidence intervals estimated by the method of Peto. Estimation of treatment effect will be done using ITT analysis based on randomized group.
Time frame From study entry to first event (induction failure, Induction death, end of induction (EOI) minimal residual disease (MRD) >= 5%, EOC MRD >= 0.01%, relapse, second malignancy, remission death) or date of last contact, assessed up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
5-year EFS for patients with disseminated (Murphy stage III-IV) B-cell lymphoblastic lymphoma (B-LLy) receiving mBFM HR B-ALL therapy that includes a second IM phase with C-MTX
Will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method and standard errors and confidence intervals estimated by the method of Peto. Estimation of treatment effect will be done using ITT analysis based on randomized group.
Time frame From study entry to first event (progressive disease, induction death, relapse, second malignancy, remission death) or date of last contact, assessed up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Health-related quality of life (HRQoL) for HR B-ALL
Will compare by study arm.
Time frame Consolidation Part 2 Day 43 (Arm D)/Inotuzumab ozogamicin Block 1 Day 15 (Arm E) up to Day 1 of IM2 (Arms D and E)
Secondary outcome
Incidence of symptomatic AEs for patients with HR B-ALL
Will compare by study arm using Patient Reported Outcome (PRO) Measures.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Overall survival (OS)
OS rates will be estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method and standard errors and confidence intervals estimated by the method of Peto.
Time frame Time from study entry to death or date of last contact for those alive at last contact, assessed up to 5 years
Other outcome
Therapy administered to patients with MPAL who come off protocol therapy due to poor disease response to ALL therapy
Will be described.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Disease response in patients with MPAL who come off protocol therapy due to poor disease response to ALL therapy
Will be described.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Survival outcomes of patients with MPAL who come off protocol therapy due to poor disease response to ALL therapy
Will be described.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Prevalence and significance of minimal marrow disease (MMD) at diagnosis and bone marrow MRD in disseminated B-LLy
Percentages with MMD at induction and MRD positivity at end of Induction will be described.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Impact of four proposed interventions of varying intensities to enhance adherence to oral 6 mercaptopurine, with a randomization based upon baseline adherence measured during the first cycle of maintenance therapy
The main analyses will use mixed models including random effects to account for the multiple sites and longitudinal observations within patients. Will examine unadjusted associations of the primary outcome (MEMS-based adherence rate) with demographic, clinical and sociodemographic variables for the entire cohort (across 3 intervention arms). Those patient-level factors associated with the outcome will be included in the main model as fixed effects to improve the precision of the estimates. The basic model for adherence will include time and mean adherence during the baseline pre-intervention period and treatment group. It will also include interactions between time and both baseline adherence and intervention group to allow for intervention-specific trends and normal changes in adherence over time.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
DFS by sex
Estimates of DFS and the corresponding 95% confidence intervals by sex.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
DFS by race
Estimates of DFS and the corresponding 95% confidence intervals by race.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
DFS by ethnicity
Estimates of DFS and the corresponding 95% confidence intervals by ethnicity.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Pharmacokinetics (PK) of inotuzumab ozogamicin when administered in the setting of first remission in pediatric and young adult patients with HR B-ALL
PK of inotuzumab ozogamicin will be described with the Area Under the Curve (AUC) (in the PK model).
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Family-reported social determinants of health and survival outcomes, toxicities, and blinatumomab patterns of delivery
Will explore associations between family-reported social determinants of health and survival outcomes, toxicities, and blinatumomab patterns of delivery.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Short- and long-term impact of chemo-immunotherapy on measures of immune function and infectious toxicities
Will describe short- and long-term impact of chemo-immunotherapy on measures of immune function and infectious toxicities.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Dates
| Start date | October 31, 2019 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | March 31, 2032 (estimated) |
| Completion | March 31, 2032 (estimated) |
| First posted | May 22, 2019 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 25, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | June 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
212 sites are recruiting
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monash Medical Center-Clayton Campus | Clayton | Victoria | Recruiting |
| John Hunter Children's Hospital | Hunter Regional Mail Centre | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Women's and Children's Hospital-Adelaide | North Adelaide | South Australia | Recruiting |
| Royal Children's Hospital | Parkville | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Perth Children's Hospital | Perth | Western Australia | Recruiting |
| Royal Hobart Hospital | Saint Hobart | Tasmania | Recruiting |
| Queensland Children's Hospital | South Brisbane | Queensland | Recruiting |
| The Children's Hospital at Westmead | Westmead | New South Wales | Suspended |
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta Children's Hospital | Calgary | Alberta | Recruiting |
| University of Alberta Hospital | Edmonton | Alberta | Recruiting |
| IWK Health Centre | Halifax | Nova Scotia | Recruiting |
| McMaster Children's Hospital at Hamilton Health Sciences | Hamilton | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Kingston Health Sciences Centre | Kingston | Ontario | Recruiting |
| Children's Hospital | London | Ontario | Recruiting |
| The Montreal Children's Hospital of the MUHC | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario | Ottawa | Ontario | Recruiting |
| CHU de Quebec-Centre Hospitalier de l'Universite Laval (CHUL) | Québec | Recruiting | |
| Saskatoon Cancer Centre | Saskatoon | Saskatchewan | Suspended |
| Jim Pattison Children's Hospital | Saskatoon | Saskatchewan | Recruiting |
| Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Sherbrooke-Fleurimont | Sherbrooke | Quebec | Recruiting |
| Janeway Child Health Centre | St. John's | Newfoundland and Labrador | Recruiting |
| Hospital for Sick Children | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
| British Columbia Children's Hospital | Vancouver | British Columbia | Recruiting |
| CancerCare Manitoba | Winnipeg | Manitoba | Recruiting |
New Zealand
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Christchurch Hospital | Christchurch | Recruiting | |
| Starship Children's Hospital | Grafton | Auckland | Recruiting |
Puerto Rico
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| HIMA San Pablo Oncologic Hospital | Caguas | Active, not recruiting | |
| University Pediatric Hospital | San Juan | Recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Children's Hospital Medical Center of Akron | Akron | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Albany Medical Center | Albany | New York | Recruiting |
| University of New Mexico Cancer Center | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Presbyterian Hospital | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Lehigh Valley Hospital-Cedar Crest | Allentown | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center-Amarillo | Amarillo | Texas | Active, not recruiting |
| Providence Alaska Medical Center | Anchorage | Alaska | Recruiting |
| C S Mott Children's Hospital | Ann Arbor | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Mission Hospital | Asheville | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| Children's Healthcare of Atlanta - Arthur M Blank Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Augusta University Medical Center | Augusta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Children's Hospital Colorado | Aurora | Colorado | Recruiting |
| Dell Children's Medical Center of Central Texas | Austin | Texas | Recruiting |
| Johns Hopkins University/Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| University of Maryland/Greenebaum Cancer Center | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Sinai Hospital of Baltimore | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Eastern Maine Medical Center | Bangor | Maine | Recruiting |
| Walter Reed National Military Medical Center | Bethesda | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Children's Hospital of Alabama | Birmingham | Alabama | Recruiting |
| Saint Luke's Cancer Institute - Boise | Boise | Idaho | Recruiting |
| Tufts Children's Hospital | Boston | Massachusetts | Active, not recruiting |
| Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center | Boston | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
181 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.