NCT04729114ClinicalTrials.gov
A Safety and Dose-finding Study of PRL-02 Depot in Men With Advanced Prostate Cancer
Phase 1, Open-Label, Multicenter Study of Intramuscular PRL-02 Depot in Patients With Advanced Prostate Cancer
In brief
Medicines that reduce the amount of testosterone in the body are commonly used to treat prostate cancer. PRL-02 depot is a potential treatment for men with advanced prostate cancer. It is given by an injection into the muscle. Men with…
Phase 1174 participants sought25 sites2 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT04729114Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2021-01-28; recorded start 2021-06-14
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Not stated: Participants are not randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as non-randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 72 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Astellas Pharma Global Development, Inc.)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 3 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
An exploratory-stage design for a phase 1 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation0/20
Non-randomised allocation
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 25 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A small study, international in scope: 174 participants (target), run at 25 sites, across 2 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment21/40
174 participants (target)
- Site count17/25
25 sites
- Country count7/15
2 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 97 months
- Sponsor scale7/10
Astellas Pharma Global Development, Inc. has led 67 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
Medicines that reduce the amount of testosterone in the body are commonly used to treat prostate cancer. PRL-02 depot is a potential treatment for men with advanced prostate cancer. It is given by an injection into the muscle. Men with advanced prostate cancer can take part in this study. Their cancer has come back after previous cancer treatment, or the previous cancer treatment they had didn't work. The main aims of the study are: * to check the safety of PRL-02 depot given with and without another medicine called enzalutamide. * to check if the men can tolerate PRL-02 depot given with or without enzalutamide. * to find a suitable dose of PRL-02 depot. This study will be in 2 parts. In the first part, different small groups of men will receive lower to higher doses of PRL-02 depot together with other medicines. In the second part of the study, men who have previously taken a hormone therapy called abiraterone acetate or have previously taken 1 specific hormone therapy as part of their prostate cancer treatment can take part. Men in both parts of the study will receive injections of PRL-02 depot into a muscle once every 12 weeks. They will also take dexamethasone or prednisone, or enzalutamide once a day. The other medicines they take depend on which group and which part of the study they are in. During the study, the men will visit the clinic several times for health checks and scans. After the final visit, men whose cancer has not become worse will continue to have health checks and scans every few months.
Conditions
- Prostate Cancer
- Metastatic Castration Resistant Prostate Cancer
- Metastatic Castration-sensitive Prostate Cancer
Eligibility
| Sex | Male |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 1 |
| Allocation | Non-randomised |
| Intervention model | SEQUENTIAL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 174 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Astellas Pharma Global Development, Inc. Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Phase 1a Dose Escalation: Group AEXPERIMENTAL
Participants with metastatic castration-sensitive prostate cancer (mCSPC), nonmetastatic castration-sensitive prostate cancer (nmCSPC) with biochemical relapse, or metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer (mCRPC) will receive escalating doses of PRL-02 + prednisone.
- Phase 1a Dose Escalation: Group BEXPERIMENTAL
Participants with mCSPC, nmCSPC with biochemical relapse, or mCRPC will receive escalating doses of PRL-02 + dexamethasone.
- Phase 1a Dose Escalation: Group HEXPERIMENTAL
Participants with mCSPC or mCRPC will receive escalating doses of PRL-02 + dexamethasone + enzalutamide.
- Phase 1b Dose Expansion: Group DEXPERIMENTAL
Participants with mCRPC with prior treatment with abiraterone acetate will receive escalating doses of PRL-02 + dexamethasone.
- Phase 1b Dose Expansion: Group EEXPERIMENTAL
Participants with mCRPC with prior treatment with 1 of the following androgen receptor pathway inhibitor (ARPIs) (enzalutamide, apalutamide, and/or darolutamide) will receive escalating doses of PRL-02 + dexamethasone.
Interventions
- Drug PRL-02 injection
abiraterone decanoate for intramuscular injection
- Drug dexamethasone
Oral dose
- Drug enzalutamide
Oral capsule
- Drug prednisone
Oral dose
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Incidence of Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)
A DLT is defined as any event meeting the DLT criteria during the first 28 days of each Dose Escalation treatment regardless of attribution to the study drug unless due to underlying disease or extraneous causes.
Time frame Up to 28 days
Primary outcome
Number of Participants with Adverse Events (AEs)
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a patient or clinical investigation patient administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this treatment.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Primary outcome
Number of Participants with Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
An SAE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose: results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, or other medically important events.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Primary outcome
Number of Participants with laboratory value abnormalities and/or AEs
Number of participants with potentially clinically significant laboratory values.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Primary outcome
Number of Participants with electrocardiogram (ECG) abnormalities and/or AEs
Number of participants with potentially clinically significant ECG values.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Primary outcome
Number of Participants with vital sign abnormalities and/or AEs
Number of participants with potentially clinically significant vital sign values.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Primary outcome
Number of Participants with physical exam abnormalities and/or AEs
Number of participants with potentially clinically significant physical exam values or symptoms.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Primary outcome
Number of Participants with Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status score
The ECOG scale will be used to assess performance status. Grades range from 0 (fully active) to 5 (dead). Negative change scores indicate an improvement. Positive scores indicate a decline in performance.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Primary outcome
Testosterone Suppression of Participants as Assessed by Testosterone Levels
Reduction in testosterone will be summarized by group and dose level.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Pharmacokinetics (PK) of Abiraterone in plasma: Maximum Concentration (Cmax)
Cmax will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: Cmax
Cmax will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: Cmax
Cmax will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone in plasma: Minimum Concentration (Cmin)
Cmin will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: Cmin
Cmin will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: Cmin
Cmin will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone in plasma: Time of maximum concentration (tmax)
tmax will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: tmax
tmax will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: tmax
tmax will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone in plasma: apparent volume of distribution (Vd/F)
Vd/F will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: Vd/F
Vd/F will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: Vd/F
Vd/F will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone in plasma: oral clearance (CL/F)
CL/F will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: CL/F
CL/F will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: CL/F
CL/F will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone in plasma: area under the curve from time 0 to the time of the last measurable concentration (AUClast)
AUClast will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: AUClast
AUClast will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: AUClast
AUClast will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone in plasma: Area Under the Concentration-time Curve from the Time of Dosing Extrapolated to Time Infinity (AUCinf)
AUCinf will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: AUCinf
AUCinf will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: AUCinf
AUCinf will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone in plasma: area under the plasma concentration-time curve during a dosage interval (AUCtau)
AUCtau will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: AUCtau
AUCtau will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: AUCtau
AUCtau will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone in plasma: Terminal Elimination Half-life (t1/2)
t1/2 will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Decanoate in plasma: t1/2
t1/2 will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
PK of Abiraterone Metabolite in plasma: t1/2
t1/2 will be recorded from the PK plasma samples collected.
Time frame Up to 455 days
Secondary outcome
Composite Response Rate
Composite responses will be defined as meeting any one of the following criteria: Objective response rate (ORR) by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1 with a minimum interval for confirmation of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) of 4 weeks or; prostate specific antigen (PSA) decline of ≥50% confirmed by a second consecutive PSA assessment at least 3 weeks later, or; Conversion of circulating tumor cell (CTC) count to \<5 cells/7.5 mL blood nadir confirmed by an additional assessment at least 3 weeks later (for participants with a CTC count of ≥5 cells/7.5 mL blood at screening).
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Best overall response (BOR) per RECIST v1.1
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
PSA decline of ≥50% response from baseline (PSA50)
Defined as ≥50% decline in PSA from baseline, confirmed by a second consecutive PSA assessment at least 3 weeks later.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
PSA decline of ≥90% response from baseline (PSA90)
Defined as ≥90% decline in PSA from baseline, confirmed by a second consecutive PSA assessment at least 3 weeks later.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Percentage of participants achieving a PSA level <0.2 ng/mL
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Duration of response (DOR)
DOR is defined as the length of time from date of first documented response using CTC count and/or PSA and/or RECIST v1.1 and Prostate Cancer Working Group 3 (PCWG3) until date of documented progression or death from any cause.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Radiographic progression-free survival (rPFS)
rPFS is defined as the time from first dose of study drug to documented progression or death using RECIST v1.1 or PCWG3.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Overall response rate (ORR) using RECIST v1.1
ORR is defined as percentage of patients with measurable disease at baseline who achieved a complete or partial response in their soft tissue disease using the RECIST v1.1 criteria.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Time to PSA progression
The time from first dose of study drug to documented PSA progression.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Overall survival (OS)
OS is defined as the time from the first dose of study drug to the date of death due to any cause.
Time frame Up to 4 years
Secondary outcome
Time to first symptomatic skeletal-related event (SSRE)
The time from first dose of study drug to first documented symptomatic skeletal-related event: Use of radiation therapy to prevent or relieve skeletal symptoms, occurrence of new symptomatic pathologic bone fractures (vertebral or nonvertebral) with radiologic documentation, occurrence of spinal cord compression with radiologic documentation, orthopedic surgical intervention for bone metastasis
Time frame Up to 4 years
Dates
| Start date | June 14, 2021 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | May 31, 2029 (estimated) |
| Completion | May 31, 2029 (estimated) |
| First posted | January 28, 2021 (actual) |
| Last updated | February 4, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | February 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
15 sites are recruiting
Puerto Rico
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pan American Center for Oncology Trials, LLC | San Juan | Rio Piedras | Recruiting |
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Mexico Oncology Hematology Consultants Ltd | Albuquerque | New Mexico | Recruiting |
| Los Angeles Cancer Network | Anaheim | California | Recruiting |
| MidLantic Urology | Bala-Cynwyd | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| National Cancer Institute | Bethesda | Maryland | Withdrawn |
| University of Virginia Cancer Center | Charlottesville | Virginia | Recruiting |
| Urology Clinics of North Texas | Dallas | Texas | Recruiting |
| Duke Cancer Center | Durham | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| Fort Wayne Medical Oncology and Hematology, Inc. | Fort Wayne | Indiana | Withdrawn |
| Oncology Consultants | Houston | Texas | Withdrawn |
| Houston Metro Urology | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| First Urology | Jeffersonville | Indiana | Recruiting |
| Helios Clinical Research, LLC | Middleburg Heights | Ohio | Withdrawn |
| Garden Sate Urology | Morristown | New Jersey | Withdrawn |
| Carolina Urologic Research Center | Myrtle Beach | South Carolina | Recruiting |
| Urology Associates PC | Nashville | Tennessee | Recruiting |
| XCancer Center Omaha/Urology Cancer Center | Omaha | Nebraska | Completed |
| Urology San Antonio | San Antonio | Texas | Withdrawn |
| Providence Medical Group Oncology Santa Rosa | Santa Rosa | California | Recruiting |
| Northwest Medical Specialties | Tacoma | Washington | Recruiting |
| Florida Urology Partners | Tampa | Florida | Withdrawn |
| Toledo Clinical Cancer Center | Toledo | Ohio | Withdrawn |
| Chesapeake Urology | Towson | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Arizona Urology Specialists | Tucson | Arizona | Withdrawn |
| Wichita Urology Group | Wichita | Kansas | Recruiting |
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.