Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT05633654ClinicalTrials.gov

Study of Sacituzumab Govitecan-hziy and Pembrolizumab Versus Treatment of Physician's Choice in Patients With Triple Negative Breast Cancer Who Have Residual Invasive Disease After Surgery and Neoadjuvant Therapy (ASCENT-05/AFT-65 OptimICE-RD/GBG 119/NSABP B-63)

A Randomized, Open-label, Phase 3 Study of Adjuvant Sacituzumab Govitecan and Pembrolizumab Versus Treatment of Physician's Choice in Patients With Triple Negative Breast Cancer Who Have Residual Invasive Disease After Surgery and Neoadjuvant Therapy

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

The goal of this study is to find out if the experimental product, sacituzumab govitecan-hziy (SG) in combination with pembrolizumab given after surgery, is effective and safe compared to the treatment of physician's choice (TPC) which includes either pembrolizumab or…

Phase 31,514 participants sought372 sites11 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2022-12-01; recorded start 2022-12-12
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 162 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Gilead Sciences)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourSTRONG

A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding0/20

    Open-label

  • Control arm15/15

    Active-comparator control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type10/10

    Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 356 sites

  • Data monitoring committee7/7

    A data monitoring committee is in place

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleLARGE

A large study, international in scope: 1,514 participants (target), run at 372 sites, across 11 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment32/40

    1,514 participants (target)

  • Site count25/25

    356 sites

  • Country count12/15

    11 countries

  • Planned duration10/10

    Planned over about 105 months

  • Sponsor scale9/10

    Gilead Sciences has led 164 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

The goal of this study is to find out if the experimental product, sacituzumab govitecan-hziy (SG) in combination with pembrolizumab given after surgery, is effective and safe compared to the treatment of physician's choice (TPC) which includes either pembrolizumab or pembrolizumab plus capecitabine in participants with triple negative breast cancer that still remains after surgery and pre-surgical treatment.

Conditions

  • Triple Negative Breast Cancer

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Key Inclusion Criteria: * Age \> 18 years, with residual invasive triple negative breast cancer (TNBC) in the breast or lymph nodes after neoadjuvant therapy and surgery: * TNBC criteria for the study is defined as estrogen receptor (ER) and progesterone receptor (PR) ≤ 10%, human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2)-negative per American Society of Clinical Oncology and College of American Pathologists (ASCO/CAP) guidelines (immunohistochemistry (IHC) and/or in situ hybridization (ISH)). * Adequate excision and surgical removal of all clinically evident of disease in the breast and/or lymph nodes and have adequately recovered from surgery. * Submission of both pre-neoadjuvant treatment diagnostic biopsy and resected residual invasive disease tissue. * Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-1. * Individuals must have received appropriate radiotherapy aligned with local/institutional practice and have recovered prior to starting study treatment. * Adequate organ function. Key Exclusion Criteria: * Stage IV (metastatic) breast cancer as well as history of any prior (ipsi- or contralateral) invasive breast cancer. * Prior treatment with another stimulatory or coinhibitory T-cell receptor agent (eg, cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated antigen 4 (CTLA-4), OX-40, cluster of differentiation 137 (CD137), prior treatment with any HER2-directed agent, prior endocrine therapy for \> 4 weeks or planned concurrent endocrine therapy while receiving on-study treatment. * Evidence of recurrent disease following preoperative therapy and surgery. * Prior treatment with topoisomerase 1 inhibitors or antibody-drug conjugates (ADCs) containing a topoisomerase inhibitor. * Individuals with germline breast cancer gene (BRCA) mutations. * Myocardial infarction or unstable angina pectoris within 6 months of enrollment or history of serious ventricular arrhythmia (ie, ventricular tachycardia or ventricular fibrillation), high-grade atrioventricular block, or other cardiac arrhythmias or Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) of \< 50% * Active serious infections requiring anti-microbial therapy. Note: Other protocol defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria may apply.

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingNONE (0)
Enrolment1,514 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Gilead Sciences Sponsor
  • Alliance Foundation Trials, LLC. Collaborators
  • NSABP Foundation Inc Collaborators
  • GBG Forschungs GmbH Collaborators

Arms and interventions

  • Sacituzumab govitecan-hziy (SG) + PembrolizumabEXPERIMENTAL

    Participants will receive SG 10 mg/kg intravenously on Days 1 and 8 of 21-day cycles and pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously on Day 1 of 21-day cycles for 8 cycles. Treatment will be administered until a maximum of 8 cycles, local or distant disease recurrence, unacceptable toxicity, physician decision, consent withdrawal, or death.

  • Treatment of Physician's Choice (TPC): Pembrolizumab or Pembrolizumab + CapecitabineACTIVE_COMPARATOR

    Participants will receive one of the following TPC regimens determined prior to randomization: * Pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously on Day 1 of 21-day cycles for 8 cycles OR * Pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously on Day 1 of 21-day cycles and capecitabine 1000 mg/m\^2 orally twice daily on Days 1 through 14 of 21-day cycles for 8 cycles. Treatment will be administered until a maximum of 8 cycles, local or distant disease recurrence, unacceptable toxicity, physician decision, consent withdrawal, or death.

Interventions

  • Drug Capecitabine

    Tablets administered orally

  • Drug Pembrolizumab

    Administered intravenously

  • Drug Sacituzumab govitecan-hziy (SG)

    Administered intravenously

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Invasive Disease-free Survival (iDFS)

    iDFS is defined as the time from the date of randomization to death from any cause or one of the following events (whichever occurs first): invasive local, regional, or distant recurrence, invasive contralateral breast cancer.

    Time frame Up to 60 months

  2. Secondary outcome

    Overall Survival (OS)

    OS is defined as the time from the date of randomization until death due to any cause.

    Time frame Up to 96 months

  3. Secondary outcome

    Distant Disease-free Survival (dDFS)

    dDFS is defined as the time from the date of randomization to death from any cause or one of the following events (whichever occurs first): distant recurrence, or second primary invasive cancer.

    Time frame Up to 60 months

  4. Secondary outcome

    Recurrence-free Survival (RFS)

    RFS is defined as the time from the date of randomization to death from any cause or one of the following events (whichever occurs first): invasive local, regional, or distant recurrence.

    Time frame Up to 60 months

  5. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants Experiencing Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

    Time frame First dose date up to 38 months plus 30 days

  6. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants Experiencing Laboratory Abnormalities

    Time frame First dose date up to 38 months plus 30 days

  7. Secondary outcome

    Time to Worsening (TTW) of Quality of Life (QoL) Based on Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy for Breast Cancer (FACT-B) Trial Outcome Index (TOI) Scores

    TTW of FACT-B TOI scores will be analyzed for each index, the TTW of FACT-B scores will be measured from the randomization date and to the time the participants first experienced a first score of worsening.

    Time frame Up to 60 months

Dates

Dates
Start dateDecember 12, 2022 (actual)
Primary completionJune 1, 2027 (estimated)
CompletionAugust 1, 2031 (estimated)
First postedDecember 1, 2022 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 9, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

278 sites are recruiting

Australia

Australia
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Cancer Research SAAdelaideSouth AustraliaRecruiting
Bendigo HealthBendigoVictoriaRecruiting
Cairns HospitalCairnsQueenslandRecruiting
Macarthur Cancer Therapy Centre, Campbelltown HospitalCampbelltownNew South WalesRecruiting
Monash Medical CentreClaytonVictoriaRecruiting
Kinghorn Cancer CentreDarlinghurstNew South WalesRecruiting
Townsville University HospitalDouglassQueenslandRecruiting
Lake Macquarie Private HospitalGatesheadNew South WalesRecruiting
Fiona Stanley HospitalMurdochWestern AustraliaRecruiting
Port Macquarie Base HospitalPort MacquarieNew South WalesRecruiting
Princess Alexandra HospitalWoolloongabbaQueenslandRecruiting

Belgium

Belgium
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Institut Jules BordetAnderlechtActive, not recruiting
AZ KlinaBrasschaatActive, not recruiting
Chirec Delta HospitalBrusselsRecruiting
Grand Hopital de Charleroi asbl (GHdC)GillyActive, not recruiting
Jessa ZiekenhuisHasseltRecruiting
UZ LeuvenLeuvenRecruiting
Clinique CHC MontLégiaLiègeRecruiting
AZ Delta vzwRoeselareRecruiting
AZ VitazSint-NiklaasActive, not recruiting
Ziekenhuls aan de Stroom vzw (ZAS vzw), ZAS AugustinusWilrijkRecruiting

Brazil

Brazil
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
St. de Habitações Individuais Sul QI 15 - Lago Sul, Brasília - DF, BrasilBrasíliaRecruiting
Rua Myltho Anselmo da Silva, 870 - Mercês, Curitiba - PR, CEP 80510-130CuritibaRecruiting
Rua Padre Germano Mayer, 1949, Hugo Lange, Curitiba, ParanáCuritibaActive, not recruiting
OncositeIjuíRecruiting
R. Aderbal Ramos da Silva, 148 - Centro, Itajaí - SC, 88300-000, BrasilItajaíRecruiting
Av. Miguel Castro, 1355, Nossa Senhora de Nazaré, Natal/RNNatalRecruiting
Av. Soledad, 569, sala 1103, Três Figueiras, CEP 90470-340Porto AlegreRecruiting
Av. Ipiranga 6690Porto AlegreRecruiting
Rua Professor Annes Dias, 295 - Centro Histórico, Porto Alegre - RS, , BrasilPorto AlegreRecruiting
Hospital Esperança SARecifeActive, not recruiting
Instituto Santa Joana Recife de Ensino e PesquisaRecifeActive, not recruiting
Instituto D'Or de Pesquisa e Ensino - RJRio de JanieroActive, not recruiting
Av. Milton Santos, 123 - Ondina, Salvador - BA, , BrasilSalvadorRecruiting
AMO Clinic - Rio VermelhoSalvadorActive, not recruiting
Instituto D'Or de Pesquisa e Ensino SPSão PauloActive, not recruiting
Hospital Sirio Libanês - SPSão PauloActive, not recruiting
Av. Brigadeiro Luís Antônio 733, loja 8São PauloRecruiting
Martiiano de Carvalho 965São PauloRecruiting
CIPE Centro Internacional de Pesquisa; A.C. Camargo Cancer CenterSão PauloRecruiting
Rua Gardênia, 710, Edifício Prime, 4º andar, Bairro Jóquei, Teresina - PI, CEP 60449-200TeresinaRecruiting

France

France
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
CHU Amiens PicardieAmiensRecruiting
Pôle Santé Léonard De Vinci - ROC37Chambray-lès-ToursRecruiting
Institut de Cancerologie de BourgogneDijonRecruiting
Clinique Victor HugoLe MansRecruiting
chu de LimogesLimogesRecruiting
Institut de Cancérologie de l'Ouest (ICO) - St HerblainLoire AtlantiqueRecruiting
Hôpital Privé Jean MermozLyonRecruiting
Centre D'Oncologie de GentillyNancyRecruiting
L'Hôpital Privé du ConfluentNantesRecruiting

322 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 9, 2026

    Site added

    16 sites added (372 total)

    356372