NCT05862272ClinicalTrials.gov
A Phase 3B Study to Evaluate Bone Mineral Density With Long-Term Use of Relugolix Combination Tablet in Women With Uterine Fibroids or Endometriosis
A Phase 3B, Single-Arm, Open-Label Study to Evaluate Bone Mineral Density With Long-Term Use of Relugolix Combination Tablet in Premenopausal Women With Heavy Menstrual Bleeding Associated With Uterine Fibroids or Moderate to Severe Pain Associated With Endometriosis
In brief
The purpose of this clinical trial to characterize changes in bone mineral density during continuous treatment with relugolix combination tablet for up to 48 months (4 years) and 1 year of post-treatment follow-up in premenopausal women with heavy menstrual bleeding…
Phase 31,000 participants sought120 sites1 country
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT05862272Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2023-05-17; recorded start 2023-08-14
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Not stated: Participants are not randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as non-randomised
- Not stated: A comparison group is not stated in the registry recordThe record describes a single study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 3 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Sumitomo Pharma Switzerland GmbH)
- Not stated: No posted results from this sponsor are in this database yetBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 2 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
An exploratory-stage design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation0/20
Allocation not stated in the record
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm0/15
No comparator arm stated in the record
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 120 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study: 1,000 participants (target), run at 120 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment30/40
1,000 participants (target)
- Site count23/25
120 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 86 months
- Sponsor scale2/10
Sumitomo Pharma Switzerland GmbH has led 4 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
The purpose of this clinical trial to characterize changes in bone mineral density during continuous treatment with relugolix combination tablet for up to 48 months (4 years) and 1 year of post-treatment follow-up in premenopausal women with heavy menstrual bleeding associated with uterine leiomyomas (fibroids) or with moderate-to-severe pain associated with endometriosis.
Conditions
- Uterine Fibroids
- Endometriosis
Eligibility
| Sex | Female |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – 50 Years |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Not applicable |
| Intervention model | SINGLE_GROUP |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 1,000 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Sumitomo Pharma Switzerland GmbH Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Relugolix Combination TabletEXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive relugolix combination therapy orally once daily for 48 months.
Interventions
- Drug Relugolix Combination Tablet
A fixed-dose combination tablet containing relugolix 40 mg, estradiol (E2) 1 mg, and norethindrone acetate (NETA) 0.5 mg.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD (bone mineral density) at Month 48 on-treatment at lumbar spine (L1-L4) in women with uterine fibroids.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 48
Primary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at Month 48 on-treatment at lumbar spine (L1-L4) in women with endometriosis.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 48
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at Month 48 on-treatment at total hip and femoral neck in women with uterine fibroids.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 48
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at Month 48 on-treatment at total hip and femoral neck in women with endometriosis.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 48
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at Month 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, and 42 on-treatment at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in women with uterine fibroids.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, and 42
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at Month 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, and 42 on-treatment at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in women with endometriosis.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, and 42
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at Month 48 on-treatment at lumbar spine (L1-L4) in the overall study population.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 48
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at Month 48 on-treatment at total hip and femoral neck in the overall study population.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 48
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at Month 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, and 42 on-treatment at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in the overall study population.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 6, 12, 18, 24, 30, 36, and 42
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at post-treatment follow-up (PTFU) Month 6 and PTFU Month 12 at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in women with uterine fibroids.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame 6 months and 12 months post treatment
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at PTFU Month 6 and PTFU Month 12 at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in women with endometriosis.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame 6 months and 12 months post treatment
Secondary outcome
Percent change from last on-treatment BMD measurement to PTFU Month 6 and PTFU Month 12 at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in women with uterine fibroids.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame 6 months and 12 months post treatment
Secondary outcome
Percent change from last on-treatment BMD measurement to PTFU Month 6 and PTFU Month 12 at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in women with endometriosis.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame 6 months and 12 months post treatment
Secondary outcome
Percent change from baseline in BMD at PTFU Month 6 and PTFU Month 12 at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in the overall study population.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame 6 months and 12 months post treatment
Secondary outcome
Percent change from last on-treatment BMD measurement to PTFU Month 6 and PTFU Month 12 at the lumbar spine (L1-L4), total hip, and femoral neck in the overall study population.
Assessed by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DXA) scan at each designated time points.
Time frame 6 months and 12 months post treatment
Secondary outcome
Incidence of treatment-emergent serious adverse events, and non-serious adverse events leading to treatment discontinuation or withdrawal from the study during the 48 months of treatment.
Safety analyses will be conducted by each safety population: 1) women with uterine fibroids, 2) women with endometriosis, and 3) overall population. The treatment-emergent period will be defined as the period of time from the date of the first dose of the study drug through 14 days after the last dose of study drug, or the date of initiation of another investigational agent or hormonal therapy affecting the hypothalamic-pituitary gonadal axis or surgical intervention for uterine fibroids or for endometriosis, whichever occurs first.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 48
Secondary outcome
Incidence and location of fractures during the 48 months on treatment and 12 months PTFU.
Safety analyses will be conducted by each safety population: 1) women with uterine fibroids, 2) women with endometriosis, and 3) overall population. All adverse events will be coded to preferred term and system organ class using Medical Dictionary for Regulatory Activities (MedDRA) version 24.0 or higher. The incidence of fractures will also be summarized by anatomical sites and whether the fracture qualifies as a fragility fracture. A participant reporting the same adverse event more than once is counted once, and at the maximum severity or strongest relationship to study drug treatment when calculating incidence.
Time frame Baseline up to Month 48 and 12 months post treatment
Dates
| Start date | August 14, 2023 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | July 1, 2029 (estimated) |
| Completion | September 1, 2030 (estimated) |
| First posted | May 17, 2023 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 6, 2025 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | July 2025 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
120 sites are recruiting
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annandale | Annandale | Virginia | Recruiting |
| Arlington | Arlington | Texas | Recruiting |
| Atlanta | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Atlanta | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Aurora | Aurora | Colorado | Recruiting |
| Aventura | Aventura | Florida | Recruiting |
| Baltimore | Baltimore | Maryland | Recruiting |
| Bay City | Bay City | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Bluffton | Bluffton | South Carolina | Recruiting |
| Burbank | Burbank | California | Recruiting |
| Canoga Park | Canoga Park | California | Recruiting |
| Chandler | Chandler | Arizona | Recruiting |
| Chattanooga | Chattanooga | Tennessee | Recruiting |
| Chicago | Chicago | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Chicago | Chicago | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Cincinnati | Cincinnati | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Cleveland | Cleveland | Ohio | Recruiting |
| College Park | College Park | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Columbus | Columbus | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Columbus | Columbus | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Covington | Covington | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| Dallas | Dallas | Texas | Recruiting |
| Dallas | Dallas | Texas | Recruiting |
| Deland | DeLand | Florida | Recruiting |
| Dearborn Heights | Dearborn Heights | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Detroit | Detroit | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Dublin | Dublin | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Durham | Durham | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| Encinitas | Encinitas | California | Recruiting |
| Englewood | Englewood | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Erie | Erie | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| Fayetteville | Fayetteville | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Fort Worth | Fort Worth | Texas | Recruiting |
| Galveston | Galveston | Texas | Recruiting |
| Grand Island | Grand Island | Nebraska | Recruiting |
| Greenville | Greenville | South Carolina | Recruiting |
| Greenwood Village | Greenwood Village | Colorado | Recruiting |
| Hialeah | Hialeah | Florida | Recruiting |
| Houston | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| Houston | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| Houston | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| Houston | Houston | Texas | Recruiting |
| Idaho Falls | Idaho Falls | Idaho | Recruiting |
| Idaho Falls | Idaho Falls | Idaho | Recruiting |
| Inglewood | Inglewood | California | Recruiting |
| Jackson | Jackson | Tennessee | Recruiting |
| Kissimmee | Kissimmee | Florida | Recruiting |
| Lake Worth | Lake Worth | Florida | Recruiting |
| Lakewood | Lakewood | Colorado | Recruiting |
| Las Vegas | Las Vegas | Nevada | Recruiting |
70 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.