NCT07097142ClinicalTrials.gov
Testing Shorter Duration Radiation Therapy Versus the Usual Radiation Therapy in Patients Receiving the Usual Chemotherapy Treatment for Bladder Cancer, ARCHER Study
The Phase III Adaptive Radiation and Chemotherapy for Muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer Trial (ARCHER)
In brief
This phase III trial compares the effect of decreased number of radiation (ultra-hypofractionated) treatments to the usual radiation number of treatments (hypofractionation) with standard of care chemotherapy, with cisplatin, gemcitabine or mitomycin and 5-fluorouracil for the treatment of patients with…
Phase 3486 participants sought211 sites1 country
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07097142Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced last month
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-07-31; recorded start 2025-10-07
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 49 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (NRG Oncology)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 3 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: other.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 211 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study: 486 participants (target), run at 211 sites.
How this score is built
- Enrolment26/40
486 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
211 sites
- Country count0/15
Single country
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 57 months
- Sponsor scale6/10
NRG Oncology has led 49 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This phase III trial compares the effect of decreased number of radiation (ultra-hypofractionated) treatments to the usual radiation number of treatments (hypofractionation) with standard of care chemotherapy, with cisplatin, gemcitabine or mitomycin and 5-fluorouracil for the treatment of patients with muscle invasive bladder cancer. Hypofractionated radiation therapy delivers higher doses of radiation therapy over a short period of time. Ultra-hypofractionated radiation therapy delivers radiation over an even shorter period of time than hypofractionated radiation therapy. Cisplatin is in a class of medications known as platinum-containing compounds. It works by killing, stopping or slowing the growth of tumor cells. Gemcitabine is a chemotherapy drug that blocks the cells from making DNA and may kill tumor cells. Chemotherapy drugs, such as mitomycin-C and 5-fluorouracil (5-FU), work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells, by stopping them from dividing, or by stopping them from spreading. Giving ultra-hypofractionated radiation may be equally effective as hypofractionated therapy for patients with muscle invasive bladder cancer.
Conditions
- Muscle Invasive Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma
- Stage II Bladder Cancer AJCC v8
- Stage IIIA Bladder Cancer AJCC v8
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 486 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- NRG Oncology Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Arm I (hypofractionated radiation therapy)ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Patients receive hypofractionated RT QD, Monday to Friday, for 20 treatments in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also receive one of 3 systemic chemotherapy regimens per treating physician's choice: 1) cisplatin IV weekly for 4 weeks; 2) gemcitabine IV on days 1, 4, 8, 11, 15, 18, 22 and 25 or weekly for 4 weeks; or 3) mitomycin-C IV on day 1 and 5 FU, over 120 hours on days 1-5 and 22-26. Treatment is given in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT scan and/or MRI or FDG PET throughout the study. In addition, patients may undergo optional blood and urine sample collection throughout the study, as well as an optional biopsy during cystoscopy during follow up.
- Arm II (Ultrahypofractionated radiation therapy)EXPERIMENTAL
Patients receive ultra-hypofractionated RT QD, no more than twice weekly, for 5 treatments in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also receive one of 3 systemic chemotherapy regimens per treating physician's choice: 1) cisplatin IV weekly for 4 weeks; 2) gemcitabine IV on days 1, 4, 8, 11, 15, 18, 22 and 25 or weekly for 4 weeks; or 3) mitomycin-C IV on day 1 and 5 FU, over 120 hours on days 1-5 and 22-26. Treatment given in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT scan and/or MRI or FDG PET throughout the study. In addition, patients may undergo optional blood and urine sample collection throughout the study, as well as an optional biopsy during cystoscopy during follow up.
Interventions
- Procedure Biospecimen Collection
Undergo blood, tissue, and urine sample collection
- Drug Cisplatin
Given IV
- Procedure Computed Tomography
Undergo CT scan
- Drug Fluorouracil
Given IV
- Drug Gemcitabine
Given IV
- Radiation Hypofractionated Radiation Therapy
Undergo hypofractionated radiation therapy
- Procedure Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Undergo MRI
- Drug Mitomycin
Given IV
- Procedure Positron Emission Tomography
Undergo PET scan
- Other Survey Administration
Ancillary studies
- Radiation Ultrahypofractionated Radiation Therapy
Undergo ultrahypofractionated radiation therapy.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Bladder-intact event-free survival (BI-EFS)
Defined as histologically proven presence of muscle invasive bladder cancer (MIBC), radiographic evidence of nodal or metastatic disease, performance of radical cystectomy, or death from any cause. Time to event will be calculated from the date of randomization. BI-EFS will be estimated in the two treatment groups using the Kaplan-Meier method and the hazard ratio between ultra-hypofractionation and hypofractionation estimated by fitting a Cox proportional hazards regression model, including a treatment arm indicator variable and adjusting for the three stratification factors employed in the randomization.
Time frame Up to 3 years
Secondary outcome
Incidence of urinary adverse events
Will be graded per Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0 (CTCAE v 5.0). The proportion of patients experiencing grade 3 or higher urinary/bowel toxicity within two years of initiation of treatment will be compared between the two treatment groups using a chi-square test. The 95% confidence interval (CI) width for the true difference will be at most ± 8.9%.
Time frame Up to year 2
Secondary outcome
Incidence of bowel adverse events
Will be graded per CTCAE v 5.0. The proportion of patients experiencing grade 3 or higher urinary/bowel toxicity within two years of initiation of treatment will be compared between the two treatment groups using a chi-square test. The 95% CI width for the true difference will be at most ± 8.9%.
Time frame Up to year 2
Secondary outcome
Quality of life
As measured by the Functional Assessment of Cancer Therapy-Bladder instrument.
Time frame At baseline, 4 weeks, 16 weeks, 13 months, 25 months, and 37 months
Secondary outcome
Event free survival
Kaplan-Meier curves will be generated and the groups compared using a stratified logrank test (stratified by the randomization stratification factors). In addition, a Cox regression model will be fit, including treatment arm and the stratification factors.
Time frame From randomization to histologically proven presence of MIBC, radiographic evidence of nodal or metastatic disease, or death from any cause, up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Metastasis-free survival
Kaplan-Meier curves will be generated and the groups compared using a stratified logrank test. A Cox regression model will also be fit, including treatment arm and the stratification factors.
Time frame From randomization to radiographic evidence of metastatic disease or death due to any cause, up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Overall survival
Kaplan-Meier curves will be generated and the groups compared using a stratified logrank test. A Cox regression model will also be fit, including treatment arm and the stratification factors.
Time frame From randomization to death from any cause, up to 5 years
Secondary outcome
Incidence of adverse events (AE)
Will be graded using CTCAE v 5.0. AE rates between the two treatment groups will be compared using chi-square or Fisher exact tests.
Time frame Up to year 2
Secondary outcome
Circulating tumor deoxyribonucleic acid (ctDNA)
The association between the ctDNA results and imaging scans will be examined by generating 2x2 tables (presence/absence of minimal residual disease vs. positive/negative scan) at each time point and assessing the concordance between the results. For subjects who are ctDNA-positive at baseline, the proportion that clear ctDNA at the conclusion of RT treatment will be estimated in each arm. A point estimate of these proportions and their associated 95% Wilson score confidence interval will be reported. Clearance rates between the two arms will be compared using a chi-square or Fisher's exact test as appropriate.
Time frame At baseline, end of treatment (week 4), weeks 16, 28, 40, 56, and at disease progression or last follow-up visit
Other outcome
ctDNA
Will be analyzed as prognostic markers by fitting Cox regression models for BI-EFS.
Time frame At baseline, 4, 16, 28, 40, and 56 weeks from start of chemotherapy
Other outcome
Tissue free minimal residual disease
Will be obtained at the time of progression to determine if it captures the presence of disease. Will be analyzed as prognostic markers by fitting Cox regression models for BI-EFS.
Time frame At time of progression
Other outcome
Urine tumor deoxyribonucleic acid
Will be analyzed as prognostic markers by fitting Cox regression models for BI-EFS.
Time frame At baseline, 4, 16, 28, 40, and 56 weeks from start of chemotherapy
Other outcome
Primary outcome treatment effect by sex
The corresponding 95% CIs will be provided.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Primary outcome treatment effect by race
The corresponding 95% CIs will be provided.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Other outcome
Primary outcome treatment effect by ethnicity
The corresponding 95% CIs will be provided.
Time frame Up to 5 years
Dates
| Start date | October 7, 2025 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | May 31, 2030 (estimated) |
| Completion | May 31, 2035 (estimated) |
| First posted | July 31, 2025 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 18, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
204 sites are recruiting
United States
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| OSF Saint Anthony's Health Center | Alton | Illinois | Recruiting |
| UI Health Care Mission Cancer and Blood - Ankeny Clinic | Ankeny | Iowa | Recruiting |
| University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center | Ann Arbor | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Langlade Hospital and Cancer Center | Antigo | Wisconsin | Recruiting |
| Emory Saint Joseph's Hospital | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Grady Health System | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory University Hospital Midtown | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| Emory University Hospital/Winship Cancer Institute | Atlanta | Georgia | Recruiting |
| UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital | Aurora | Colorado | Recruiting |
| UH Seidman Cancer Center at UH Avon Health Center | Avon | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Basking Ridge | Basking Ridge | New Jersey | Recruiting |
| Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| Louisiana Hematology Oncology Associates LLC | Baton Rouge | Louisiana | Recruiting |
| Bronson Battle Creek | Battle Creek | Michigan | Recruiting |
| UHHS-Chagrin Highlands Medical Center | Beachwood | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Billings Clinic Cancer Center | Billings | Montana | Recruiting |
| OSF Saint Joseph Medical Center | Bloomington | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Illinois CancerCare-Bloomington | Bloomington | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Central Care Cancer Center - Bolivar | Bolivar | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center | Boston | Massachusetts | Recruiting |
| Bozeman Health Deaconess Hospital | Bozeman | Montana | Recruiting |
| University of Michigan - Brighton Center for Specialty Care | Brighton | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Henry Ford Cancer Institute-Downriver | Brownstown | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Minnesota Oncology - Burnsville | Burnsville | Minnesota | Recruiting |
| Illinois CancerCare-Canton | Canton | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Mercy Cancer Center - Cape Girardeau | Cape Girardeau | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Saint Francis Medical Center | Cape Girardeau | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Memorial Hospital of Carbondale | Carbondale | Illinois | Recruiting |
| SIH Cancer Institute | Carterville | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Illinois CancerCare-Carthage | Carthage | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Centralia Oncology Clinic | Centralia | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Christiana Care Health System-Concord Health Center | Chadds Ford | Pennsylvania | Recruiting |
| UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center | Chapel Hill | North Carolina | Recruiting |
| Medical University of South Carolina | Charleston | South Carolina | Recruiting |
| Memorial Hospital of Laramie County | Cheyenne | Wyoming | Recruiting |
| Rush MD Anderson Cancer Center | Chicago | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Northwestern University | Chicago | Illinois | Recruiting |
| University of Illinois | Chicago | Illinois | Recruiting |
| Case Western Reserve University | Cleveland | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Henry Ford Macomb Hospital-Clinton Township | Clinton Township | Michigan | Recruiting |
| Mercy Cancer Center-West Lakes | Clive | Iowa | Recruiting |
| UI Health Care Mission Cancer and Blood - West Des Moines Clinic | Clive | Iowa | Recruiting |
| Kootenai Health - Coeur d'Alene | Coeur d'Alene | Idaho | Recruiting |
| MU Health - University Hospital/Ellis Fischel Cancer Center | Columbia | Missouri | Recruiting |
| Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center | Columbus | Ohio | Recruiting |
| Memorial Sloan Kettering Commack | Commack | New York | Recruiting |
| MD Anderson in The Woodlands | Conroe | Texas | Recruiting |
| Mercy Hospital | Coon Rapids | Minnesota | Recruiting |
| UM Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at Coral Gables | Coral Gables | Florida | Recruiting |
| Greater Regional Medical Center | Creston | Iowa | Recruiting |
161 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.