Skip to main content
xMedica

NCT07153471ClinicalTrials.gov

A Study of Orforglipron (LY3502970) in Participants With Obesity or Overweight and Osteoarthritis (OA) of the Knee

A Phase 3 Study to Investigate the Efficacy and Safety of Orforglipron Once Daily in Participants Who Have Obesity or Overweight and Osteoarthritis of the Knee: A Multicenter, Randomized, Double-Blind, Parallel-Arm, Placebo-Controlled Trial

RecruitingTaking participants now, according to the registry record.
Contact this study

In brief

The GZPT master protocol will support two independent studies, J2A-MC-GZT1 and J2A-MC-GZT2. Each study will see how well and safely orforglipron works in people with obesity or overweight who have osteoarthritis (OA) of the knee with pain. Participation in the…

Phase 3800 participants sought88 sites7 countries

Categories

Registered in 1 registry

One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.

Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.

Interested in this study?

Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.

How this study is set up

The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.

  • Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2025-09-04; recorded start 2025-09-15
  • Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
  • Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
  • Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
  • Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
  • Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
  • Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
  • Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
  • Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
  • Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
  • Present: Sponsor has 347 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Eli Lilly and Company)
  • Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
  • The record lists 1 condition.
  • Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
  • Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.

Trial stature

Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.

Methodological rigourSTRONG

A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.

How this score is built
  • Randomised allocation20/20

    Participants are randomly allocated between arms

  • Blinding7/20

    Single-blind

  • Control arm13/15

    Placebo / sham control arm

  • Primary-outcome specificity10/10

    Named primary outcome with a defined time frame

  • Endpoint type3/10

    Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)

  • Multi-centre8/8

    Multi-centre: 95 sites

  • Data monitoring committee0/7

    No data monitoring committee stated

  • Prospective registration5/5

    Registered before the study start date

  • Protocol / SAP posted0/5

    No protocol or SAP posted to the registry

ScaleLARGE

A large study, international in scope: 800 participants (target), run at 88 sites, across 7 countries.

How this score is built
  • Enrolment29/40

    800 participants (target)

  • Site count22/25

    95 sites

  • Country count12/15

    8 countries

  • Planned duration8/10

    Planned over about 32 months

  • Sponsor scale9/10

    Eli Lilly and Company has led 326 trials in our corpus

Investigator standingUNKNOWN

We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.

How this score is built
  • Investigator standing0/100

    No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial

These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.

Summary

The GZPT master protocol will support two independent studies, J2A-MC-GZT1 and J2A-MC-GZT2. Each study will see how well and safely orforglipron works in people with obesity or overweight who have osteoarthritis (OA) of the knee with pain. Participation in the study will last about 74 weeks.

Conditions

  • Osteoarthritis

Eligibility

Eligibility
SexAll
Ages18 YearsNo maximum
Healthy volunteersNo

Eligibility as written in the registry

Inclusion Criteria: * Have a body mass index (BMI) of 27 kilograms per square meter (kg/m2) or higher at screening * Have tried at least once to lose weight through diet but were unsuccessful * Have osteoarthritis of the knee and at least one of the following conditions: * Be over 50 years old * Have morning knee stiffness that lasts about 30 minutes * Have a crackling or grinding sound or feeling in the knee Exclusion Criteria: * Have gained or lost more than 11 pounds within 90 days prior to screening * Have had a surgery for obesity or plan to have one in the next 18 months * Have an active knee infection * Have type 1 diabetes, type 2 diabetes, or any other type of diabetes * Have had a recent heart condition or New York Heart Association Functional Classification Class IV congestive heart failure * Have used any glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist medication within 180 days of screening

Eligibility in plain statements

This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.

Study design

Study design
Study typeInterventional
PhasePhase 3
AllocationRandomised
Intervention modelPARALLEL
Primary purposeTREATMENT
MaskingSINGLE (1)
Enrolment800 participants sought

Sponsor and collaborators

  • Eli Lilly and Company Sponsor

Arms and interventions

  • Orforglipron (GZT1)EXPERIMENTAL

    Participants will receive orforglipron orally

  • Placebo (GZT1)PLACEBO_COMPARATOR

    Participants will receive placebo orally

  • Orforglipron (GZT2)EXPERIMENTAL

    Participants will receive orforglipron orally

  • Placebo (GZT2)PLACEBO_COMPARATOR

    Participants will receive placebo orally

Interventions

  • Drug Orforglipron

    Administered orally

  • Drug Placebo

    Administered orally

Outcome measures

  1. Primary outcome

    Change from Baseline in the Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) Pain Subscale Score

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  2. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in the WOMAC Physical Function Subscale Score

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  3. Secondary outcome

    Percent Change from Baseline in Body Weight

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  4. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in 36-item, Short-Form Health Survey, version 2 (SF-36v2) Acute Form Physical Functioning Domain Score

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  5. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in Distance Walked During the 6-Minute Walk Test

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  6. Secondary outcome

    Percent Change from Baseline in High-Sensitivity, C-reactive Protein (hsCRP)

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  7. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in Waist Circumference

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  8. Secondary outcome

    Percent Change from Baseline in Tumor Necrosis Factor (TNF)-Alpha

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  9. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in WOMAC Stiffness Subscale

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  10. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in WOMAC Total Score

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  11. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in SF-36v2 Acute Form Domain Scores

    With exception of the Physical Functioning Domain Score

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  12. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants Who Achieve Improved Categorical Shift in Patient Global Impression of Severity (PGIS) - Target Knee Function

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  13. Secondary outcome

    Percentage of Participants Who Achieve Improved Categorical Shift in PGIS - Target Knee Pain

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  14. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in Average Pain Intensity Numeric Rating Scale (API-NRS) Score

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  15. Secondary outcome

    Change from Baseline in Worst Pain Intensity Numeric Rating Scale (WPI-NRS) Score

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  16. Secondary outcome

    Number of Participants with Allowed Concomitant Pain Medication

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  17. Secondary outcome

    Percent Change from Baseline in Total Cholesterol

    Time frame Baseline, Week 72

  18. Secondary outcome

    Pharmacokinetics (PK): Steady-State Area Under the Curve (AUC) of Orforglipron

    Time frame Predose through Week 48

Dates

Dates
Start dateSeptember 15, 2025 (actual)
Primary completionApril 1, 2028 (estimated)
CompletionMay 1, 2028 (estimated)
First postedSeptember 4, 2025 (actual)
Last updatedSeptember 8, 2026
Results postedNot stated in the registry record
Status last verifiedSeptember 2026

Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.

Locations

67 sites are recruiting

Canada

Canada
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Aggarwal and Associates LimitedBramptonRecruiting
Diex Recherche Inc. Division JolietteJolietteRecruiting
Your Research NetworkNiagara FallsRecruiting
ALPHA Recherche CliniqueQuébecRecruiting
G.R.M.O. (Groupe de recherche en maladies osseuses) Inc.QuébecRecruiting
Alpha Recherche CliniqueQuébecRecruiting
Bluewater Clinical Research Group Inc.SarniaRecruiting
Winterberry Research Inc.Stoney CreekRecruiting

China

China
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
The First Affiliated Hospital of Baotou Medical College, Inner Mongolia University of Science and Technolo -TBaotouRecruiting
Xuanwu Hospital Capital Medical UniversityBeijingRecruiting
The Second Affiliated Hospital Chongqing Medical UniversityChongqingRecruiting
The Fourth Affiliated Hospital of Harbin Medical UniversityHarbinRecruiting
The Second People's Hospital of HefeiHefeiRecruiting
Jinan Central HospitalJinanRecruiting
The First Affiliated Hospital of Henan University of Science &TechnologyLuoyangRecruiting
Nanjing First HospitalNanjingRecruiting
Jiangsu Province HospitalNanjingRecruiting
Nanjing Medical University - Nanjing Jiangning HospitalNanjingRecruiting
Pingxiang People's HospitalPingxiangRecruiting
The First Hospital of QinhuangdaoQinhuangdao ShiRecruiting
Huashan Hospital, Fudan UniversityShanghaiRecruiting
The First Affiliated Hospital of Shantou University Medical CollegeShantouRecruiting
The University of Hong Kong-Shenzhen HospitalShenzhenRecruiting
Taizhou Hospital of Zhejiang ProvinceTaizhouRecruiting

Germany

Germany
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Siteworks GmbH - BochumBochumActive, not recruiting
Klinische Forschung DresdenDresdenActive, not recruiting
HRF II - Hamburger Rheuma Forschungszentrum II MVZ für Rheumatologie und Autoimmunmedizin Hamburg GmbH / -THamburgActive, not recruiting
Klinische Forschung HamburgHamburgActive, not recruiting
Klinische Forschung Hannover-MitteHanoverActive, not recruiting
Siteworks GmbH - HannoverHanoverActive, not recruiting
Klinische Forschung KarlsruheKarlsruheActive, not recruiting
Siteworks - KarlsruheKarlsruheActive, not recruiting
AmBeNet GmbHLeipzigActive, not recruiting
CDG Studienambulanz HartardMünchenActive, not recruiting
Dedicated Research Site FutureMedsOffenbachActive, not recruiting
Private Practice - Dr. Jochen WalterRendsburgActive, not recruiting
Universitaetsklinikum WuerzburgWürzburgActive, not recruiting

Japan

Japan
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Hamanomachi HospitalFukuokaRecruiting
Fukuoka Wajiro HospitalFukuokaRecruiting
Shimane University HospitalIzumoRecruiting
Kariya Toyota General HospitalKariyaRecruiting
Ando OrthopedicKawasakiRecruiting
Tokyo Saiseikai Central HospitalMinatokuRecruiting
Goto Orthopedic Surgery ClinicMiyazakiRecruiting
Kato Orthopedic ClinicMoriokaRecruiting
Japan Community Health Care Organization - Saitama Medical CenterSaitamaRecruiting
Sapporo Maruyama Orthopedic HospitalSapporoRecruiting
Masumoto Orthopedics ClinicSuginami CityRecruiting

Mexico

Mexico
FacilityCityState or regionStatus
Investigacion y Biomedicina de ChihuahuaChihuahua CityRecruiting
Centro de Estudios de Investigacion Metabolicos y Cardiovasculares, S.C.Ciudad MaderoRecruiting

38 further sites are listed in the registry record.

Study documents

No documents are linked in this registry record.

Changes over time

  1. September 8, 2026

    Site removed

    8 sites removed (88 total)

    9688

  2. August 6, 2026

    Site added

    1 site added (96 total)

    9596