NCT07564414ClinicalTrials.gov
A Research Study to Look at How Two Different Doses of CagriSema and One Dose of Semaglutide Help People Living With Obesity With or Without Type 2 Diabetes Lose Weight
A Clinical Study to Compare Efficacy and Safety of Two Different Doses of CagriSema and Semaglutide in Participants With Obesity With or Without Type 2 Diabetes
In brief
This clinical study is testing how the study medicine CagriSema helps people living with obesity, with or without type 2 diabetes (T2D), lose weight. The purpose of the study is to find out how safe and effective CagriSema is for…
Phase 32,500 participants sought303 sites19 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07564414Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 3 weeks ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-05-04; recorded start 2026-05-21
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 333 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Novo Nordisk A/S)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 2 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 303 sites
- Data monitoring committee0/7
No data monitoring committee stated
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 2,500 participants (target), run at 303 sites, across 19 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment34/40
2,500 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
303 sites
- Country count15/15
19 countries
- Planned duration7/10
Planned over about 23 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Novo Nordisk A/S has led 320 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This clinical study is testing how the study medicine CagriSema helps people living with obesity, with or without type 2 diabetes (T2D), lose weight. The purpose of the study is to find out how safe and effective CagriSema is for body weight loss in these participants. Participants will receive either CagriSema or semaglutide, and which treatment participants receive is decided by chance. CagriSema is a new study medicine being tested, while semaglutide is a medicine that doctors can already prescribe. The study will last for about 83 weeks
Conditions
- Obesity
- Type 2 Diabetes
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Enrolment | 2,500 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Novo Nordisk A/S Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Cagrisema - dose level 1EXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive CagriSema at dose level 1 once weekly subcutaneously during the treatment period for 72 weeks.
- Cagrisema - dose level 2ACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Participants will receive CagriSema at dose level 2 once weekly subcutaneously during the treatment period for 72 weeks.
- SemaglutideACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Participants will receive Semaglutide once weekly subcutaneously during the treatment period for 72 weeks.
Interventions
- Drug Cagrisema
Cagrisema (Cagrilintide and Semaglutide) will be administered subcutaneously.
- Drug Semaglutide
Semaglutide will be administered subcutaneously.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Relative change in body weight
Measured as percentage (%).
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Relative change in body weight
Measured as %.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Change in Body Mass Index (BMI)
Measured as kilograms per square metre (kg/m\^2).
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve greater than or equal to (≥) 30% weight reduction
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve ≥25% weight reduction
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve greater ≥ 20% weight reduction
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Change in waist circumference
Measured in centimetre (cm).
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Mean change in body weight
Measured in kilograms (kg).
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve a BMI less than (<) 30 kg/m^2
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve BMI <27 kg/m^2
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve normal BMI, defined as 18.5 lesser than or equal to (≤) BMI < 25 kg/m^2
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame At end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve a waist-to-height ratio < 0.53
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame At end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Ratio to baseline : Total cholesterol
Measured in terms of ratio.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Ratio to baseline : High density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol
Measured in terms of ratio.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Ratio to baseline : Low density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol
Measured in terms of ratio.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Ratio to baseline : Very low density lipoprotein ( VLDL) cholesterol
Measured in terms of ratio.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Ratio to baseline : Triglycerides
Measured in terms of ratio.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Ratio to baseline: Free fatty acids
Measured in terms of ratio.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Ratio to baseline : Non-HDL cholesterol
Measured in terms of ratio.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Change in Short-Form-36 Health Survey Version 2.0 (SF-36v2) physical Function
Measured as score on a scale. The SF-36v2 acute measures health-related quality of life (HRQOL). The measure consists of 36 items yielding 8 health domain scores and 2 component summary scores. SF-36v2 acute scores are norm-based scores, i.e. transformed to a scale where the 2009 United States general population has a mean of 50 and a standard deviation of 10. Physical functioning score ranges from 19.0-57.6, with higher scores indicating better functional health and well-being.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Change in Impact of Weight on Quality of Life-Lite Clinical Trials (IWQOL-Lite-CT) physical function
Measured as score on a scale. IWQOL-Lite-CT measures weight-related physical and psychosocial functioning. The measure consists of 20 items yielding 3 composite scores, and 1 total score. Physical function score ranges from 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating better levels of functioning.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Change in glycated haemoglobin (HbA1c)
Measured in %-points.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve HbA1c <6.5%
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame At end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of participants who achieve normal HbA1c <5.7%
Measured as count of participants.
Time frame At end of treatment (week 72)
Secondary outcome
Number of treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs)
Measured in number of events.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of study (week 80)
Secondary outcome
Number of treatment-emergent serious adverse events (TESAEs)
Measured in number of events.
Time frame From randomisation (week 0) to end of study (week 80)
Dates
| Start date | May 21, 2026 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | February 23, 2028 (estimated) |
| Completion | April 19, 2028 (estimated) |
| First posted | May 4, 2026 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 31, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
162 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| OMI- Organización Médica de Investigación | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Centro Medico Dra. Laura Maffei e Investigacion Clínica Apli | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Hospital Sirio Libanes | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Kynet Recoleta | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| CEMEDIC | CABA | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| CEDIC Centro de Investigación Clínica | CABA | Not yet recruiting | |
| CIPREC Arenales | CABA | Recruiting | |
| Centro Médico Viamonte SRL | CABA | Recruiting | |
| Centro de Investigaciones Metabólicas | Capital Federal | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| CICEMO- Consultorio (Av Directorio) | Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Centro Médico Arsema | Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Instituto Centenario | Ciudad de Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Centro de Investigación C.I.C.E 9 de Julio - Sanatorio 9 de Julio | San Miguel de Tucumán | Tucumán Province | Recruiting |
| CEDIR - Centro de diagnóstico y rehabilitación Santa Fe | Santa Fe | Recruiting | |
| Sanatorio Norte | Santiago del Estero | Recruiting |
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of Sunshine Coast - Vitality Village | Birtinya | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Emeritus Research Melbourne | Camberwell | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Sydney Clinical Trials | Campbelltown | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Gosford Renal Research | Gosford | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Sydney Cardiometabolic Centre | Liverpool | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Hunter Diabetes Centre | Merewether | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| University of Sunshine Coast - South Brisbane | South Brisbane | Queensland | Recruiting |
Austria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Medical University of Graz | Graz | Recruiting | |
| Ordination Winhofer-Stöckl | Mattersburg | Recruiting | |
| Fließer-Görzer [Ordination] | Saint Stefan | Recruiting | |
| Universitätsklinikum AKH Wien | Vienna | Recruiting | |
| Klinik Landstraße | Vienna | Recruiting | |
| Ordination Dr. Günter Sokol | Vienna | Recruiting | |
| Klinik Hietzing 3. Med. Abt. | Vienna | Recruiting | |
| Itariu [Ordination] | Vienna | Recruiting |
Belgium
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anima Research Center | Alken | Recruiting | |
| Cliniques universitaires Saint-Luc | Brussels | Not yet recruiting | |
| KORMONT | Kluisbergen | Recruiting | |
| CHU Tivoli | La Louvière | Recruiting | |
| MECLINAS | Mechelen | Recruiting | |
| AZ Delta - Roeselare | Roeselare | Recruiting | |
| KORMONT | Zwalm | Recruiting |
Bulgaria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| MC For Life EOOD | Burgas | Recruiting | |
| MC Kazanlak EOOD | Kazanlak | Recruiting | |
| Medical center Medi City 21 OOD | Kyustendil | Recruiting | |
| OCSOMCE - Dr. Albena Dinkova EOOD | Pleven | Recruiting | |
| AIPSMCEMDID - Dr. Georgi Levterov EOOD | Plovdiv | Recruiting | |
| DCC Sveti Georgi EOOD | Plovdiv | Recruiting | |
| Hipocrat 9 - Dr. Rumyana Boykova - Draganova - AISPEMD EOOD | Sofia | Recruiting | |
| DCC XX - Sofia EOOD, Endocrinology | Sofia | Recruiting | |
| MC Diamedical - 2013 OOD, Sofia | Sofia | Recruiting | |
| Medical Centre Medical Arts Medico-dental centre | Sofia | Recruiting | |
| DCC XXV Sofia EOOD, Endocrinology Consulting room | Sofia | Recruiting | |
| UMHAT Prof. Dr. Stoyan Kirkovich AD | Stara Zagora | Recruiting | |
| AIPSMC Dr. Evelina Zlatanova EOOD | Varna | Recruiting |
253 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.