NCT07567001ClinicalTrials.gov
A Research Study to Look at How Well NNC0487-0111 Works Compared to Placebo in People With Heart Failure and Obesity
Efficacy and Safety of NNC0487-0111 Compared to Placebo on Morbidity and Mortality in People With Heart Failure With Preserved or Mildly Reduced Ejection Fraction and Obesity
In brief
This study is being done to look at the safety and effect of NNC0487-0111 in people with Heart Failure with preserved Ejection Fraction (HFpEF) or Heart Failure with mildly reduced Ejection Fraction (HFmrEF) and excess body weight when compared to…
Phase 35,610 participants sought838 sites27 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07567001Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced last month
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2026-05-05; recorded start 2026-05-11
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 333 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Novo Nordisk A/S)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 2 conditions.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A definitive-grade design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding20/20
Quadruple-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type10/10
Mortality / MACE endpoint (hard clinical outcome)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 839 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 5,610 participants (target), run at 838 sites, across 27 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment36/40
5,610 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
839 sites
- Country count15/15
27 countries
- Planned duration8/10
Planned over about 40 months
- Sponsor scale9/10
Novo Nordisk A/S has led 320 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This study is being done to look at the safety and effect of NNC0487-0111 in people with Heart Failure with preserved Ejection Fraction (HFpEF) or Heart Failure with mildly reduced Ejection Fraction (HFmrEF) and excess body weight when compared to placebo. The purpose of this clinical study is to find out if NNC0487-0111 is safe and effective for treating people who have HFpEF or HFmrEF and excess body weight. Participants will get NNC0487-0111 or placebo by injection once a week. Which treatment participants get is decided by chance. NNC0487-0111 is a new medicine that doctors cannot prescribe yet, but it has been tested in people before.
Conditions
- Obesity
- Heart Failure
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | QUADRUPLE (4) |
| Enrolment | 5,610 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Novo Nordisk A/S Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- NNC0487-0111EXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive NNC0487-0111 subcutaneously (s.c.) in a dose escalating manner once weekly.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Participants will receive placebo matched to NNC0487-011 s.c. once weekly.
Interventions
- Drug NNC0487-0111
NNC0487-011 will be administered subcutaneously.
- Drug Placebo
Placebo (matched to NNC0487-011) will be administered subcutaneously.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Time to first occurrence of a composite Heart Failure (HF) endpoint consisting of cardiovascular (CV) death
Measured in days.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to 165 weeks
Primary outcome
Time to first occurrence of a composite HF endpoint consisting of HF hospitalisation or urgent HF visit
Measured in days.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to 165 weeks
Secondary outcome
Time to first occurrence of a composite HF and Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) end-point consisting of: CV death, HF hospitalisation or urgent HF visit, Nonfatal Myocardial Infraction (MI), Nonfatal stroke
Measured in days.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to 165 weeks
Secondary outcome
Change in Clinical Summary Score of the Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (KCCQ-CSS) for participants with baseline KCCQ-CSS score less than (<) 80 points
Measured as score on scale. KCCQ measures Health-Related Quality of Life (HRQOL). Score ranges from 0 to 100, with 0 as the lowest score and 100 as the highest score. Higher scores indicate better health status, fewer symptoms and greater disease-specific HRQoL.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to week 52
Secondary outcome
Change in estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR) (creatinine and cystatin C-based Chronic Kidney Disease Epidemiology Collaboration [CKD-EPI] 2021) for participants with baseline eGFR< 60 milliliter per minute per 1.73 square meter (mL/min/1.73 m^2)
Measured as mL/min/1.73 m\^2.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to week 78
Secondary outcome
Time to all-cause death
Measured in days.
Time frame From baseline (week 0) to 165 weeks
Dates
| Start date | May 11, 2026 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | July 23, 2029 (estimated) |
| Completion | August 15, 2029 (estimated) |
| First posted | May 5, 2026 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 18, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
530 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cardiología Hospital J. M. Ramos Mejia | Buenos Aires | Not yet recruiting | |
| Fundación Respirar | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Centro Medico Dra. Laura Maffei e Investigacion Clínica Apli | Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| CEDIC Centro de Investigación Clínica | CABA | Not yet recruiting | |
| Glenny Corp. S.A | CABA | Recruiting | |
| CEMEDIC | CABA | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Centro de Investigaciones Metabólicas | Capital Federal | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Cardiología Palermo | City of Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| CardiaMet | Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aires | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Clínica Privada Velez Sarsfield | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Centro Médico Luquez | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Instituto de Investigaciones Clínicas Córdoba | Córdoba | Recruiting | |
| Sanatorio Esperanza | Esperanza, Santa Fe | Recruiting | |
| Hospital Español de Mendoza | Godoy Cruz, Mendoza | Mendoza Province | Recruiting |
| Centro Medico Capital | La Plata, Buenos Aires | Recruiting | |
| Centro Médico CIMEL | Lanús Este | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Hospital Universitario Austral - Instituto de Cardiologia | Pilar | Buenos Aires | Recruiting |
| Instituto Especialidades de la Salud Rosario | Rosario | Santa Fe Province | Recruiting |
| INECO Neurociencias Oroño | Rosario | Santa Fe Province | Recruiting |
| CAICI | Rosario | Recruiting | |
| Instituto de Investigaciones Clínicas Rosario | Rosario | Santa Fe Province | Recruiting |
| Centro Cardiovascular Salta | Salta | Not yet recruiting | |
| Instituto de Investigaciones de Patologías Respiratorias | San Miguel de Tucumán | Recruiting | |
| CMC Cardiología Sociedad Simple | San Miguel de Tucumán | Recruiting | |
| Instituto de Investigaciones Clinicas San Nicolás | San Nicolás | Recruiting | |
| CEDIR - Centro de diagnóstico y rehabilitación Santa Fe | Santa Fe | Recruiting | |
| Centro de Investigaciones Clinica Baigorria | Santa Fe | Recruiting | |
| Centro de investigaciones Clinicas del Litoral | Santa Fe | Recruiting | |
| MIT Medicina, Investigación y tratamiento | Santa Rosa, La Pampa | Recruiting |
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nightingale Research Adelaide | Adelaide | South Australia | Recruiting |
| Flinders Medical Centre - Cardiology Department | Bedford Park | South Australia | Not yet recruiting |
| Canberra Hospital - Clinical Trials Unit | Canberra | Australian Capital Territory | Not yet recruiting |
| Heart of Australia | Chelmer | Queensland | Recruiting |
| The Prince Charles Hospital - Cardiology Clinical Research Centre | Chermside | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Lyell McEwin Hospital - Clinical Trials Unit | Elizabeth Vale | South Australia | Recruiting |
| Nightingale Research Victoria | Frankston | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Adrian Costa Clinical Trials Centre | Geelong | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Royal Hobart Hospital - Cardiology Department | Hobart | Tasmania | Recruiting |
| Baker-HeartWest - Hoppers Crossing | Hoppers Crossing | Victoria | Recruiting |
| Life Clinical Research | Ipswich | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Advara HeartCare Joondalup | Joondalup | Western Australia | Recruiting |
| Advara HeartCare Leabrook | Leabrook | South Australia | Recruiting |
| Sydney Cardiometabolic Centre | Liverpool | New South Wales | Recruiting |
| Core Research Group | Milton | Queensland | Recruiting |
| Advara HeartCare Mulgrave | Mulgrave | Victoria | Recruiting |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jmf Clínica Do Coração Ltda | Aracaju | Recruiting | |
| CCIH-Consultoria em Controle de Infecção Hospitalar Ltda | Belo Horizonte | Minas Gerais | Recruiting |
| Grupo AngioKormann | Blumenau | Santa Catarina | Not yet recruiting |
| Associação Lar São Francisco de Assis na Providência de Deus - Bragança Paulista | Bragança Paulista | São Paulo | Recruiting |
| Synvia Laboratorios E Toxicologia Ltda | Campinas | São Paulo | Recruiting |
788 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
- August 18, 2026
Site removed
1 site removed (838 total)
839838