NCT07764978ClinicalTrials.gov
Study of AZD0120 in Newly Diagnosed Multiple Myeloma Ineligible for ASCT
Phase III Open-Label, Randomised Study of Consolidation With AZD0120 (Dual-Targeting BCMA/CD19 CAR-T) vs Continuous Standard Therapy in NDMM Patients Ineligible for ASCT as Initial Therapy (DURGA-5)
In brief
This is a randomised, multicentre, controlled, open-label, Phase III global study comparing the efficacy and safety of standard induction regimens (IsaVRd and DRd) followed by AZD0120 versus standard induction regimens followed by continuous therapy (IsaRd and DRd) in participants with…
Phase 3750 participants sought124 sites15 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT07764978Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced last month
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Not stated: Registered after enrolment began (about 49 days after the recorded start)First posted 2026-08-14; recorded start 2026-06-26
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Not stated: Open label (no blinding)Masking is recorded as none (open label)
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 1019 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (AstraZeneca)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding0/20
Open-label
- Control arm15/15
Active-comparator control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 124 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration3/5
Registered within 30 days of the study start
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A large study, international in scope: 750 participants (target), run at 124 sites, across 15 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment28/40
750 participants (target)
- Site count23/25
124 sites
- Country count12/15
15 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 96 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
AstraZeneca has led 1,006 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This is a randomised, multicentre, controlled, open-label, Phase III global study comparing the efficacy and safety of standard induction regimens (IsaVRd and DRd) followed by AZD0120 versus standard induction regimens followed by continuous therapy (IsaRd and DRd) in participants with newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (NDMM) who are ineligible for autologous stem cell transplant (ASCT) as initial therapy.
Conditions
- Newly Diagnosed Multiple Myeloma
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 18 Years – No maximum |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | NONE (0) |
| Enrolment | 750 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- AstraZeneca Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- Arm A: Investigational ArmEXPERIMENTAL
Arm A is the sequence of induction with IsaVRd or DRd, apheresis, optional bridging therapy, lymphodepletion (cyclophosphamide and fludarabine), and AZD0120.
- Arm B: Control ArmACTIVE_COMPARATOR
Arm B is the standard therapy induction with IsaVRd or DRd, followed by continuous IsaRd or DRd until disease progression or intolerable toxicity.
Interventions
- Biological AZD0120
AZD0120, is a BCMA/CD19 dual CAR T-cell product, which is administered intravenously.
- Drug Bortezomib
Induction therapy.
- Drug Cyclophosphamide
Lymphodepletion
- Biological Daratumumab
Induction, optional bridging and continuous therapy.
- Drug Dexamethasone
Induction, optional bridging and continuous therapy.
- Drug Fludarabine
Lymphodepletion
- Biological Isatuximab
Induction, optional bridging and continuous therapy.
- Drug Lenalidomide
Induction, optional bridging and continuous therapy.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
PFS in NDMM who are ineligible to receive ASCT is measured to demonstrate the superiority of IsaVRd or DRd induction followed by AZD0120 compared to IsaVRd or DRd induction followed by continuous DRd or IsaRd.
PFS: defined as time from randomisation until progression according to IMWG 2016 criteria as assessed by BICR, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Primary outcome
MRD negative CR rate at 9M in NDMM who are ineligible to receive ASCT is measured to demonstrate the superiority of IsaVRd or DRd induction followed by AZD0120 compared to IsaVRd or DRd induction followed by continuous DRd or IsaRd
MRD negative CR rate at 9 months: defined as the proportion of participants with MRD negative status (at threshold of 10-5) and have a response of CR or sCR (according to the IMWG 2016 criteria) as assessed by BICR at 9 months (± 3 months) from randomisation before initiation of subsequent anti-myeloma therapy.
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Secondary outcome
Complete Response Rate
The proportion of participants who achieved CR or better according to IMWG 2016 criteria, as assessed by BICR
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Secondary outcome
Overall Survival
Time from randomisation until date of death due to any cause
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Secondary outcome
Number and percentage of participants with adverse events as graded by CTCAE v6 and ASTCT Consensus Grading criteria
Adverse Event Incidence
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Secondary outcome
Concentration of Circulating CAR-T+ Cells in Peripheral Blood
Quantification of circulating CAR-T+ cell levels by measuring CAR transgene in peripheral blood and CK parameters of AZD0120 will be measured to characterise the cellular kinetics of AZD0120 in blood.
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Secondary outcome
Number and percentage of participants with incidence of ADAs against AZD0120
Assessment humoral immunogenicity of AZ0120 based on incidence of ADAs.
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Secondary outcome
Patient Reported Outcomes
Change from baseline in bone pain severity measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Item Library 469 single bone pain item (EORTC IL469 - score range 0 - 100, with higher scores indicating worse bone pain) in participants with newly diagnosed multiple myeloma ineligible for autologous stem cell transplantation as initial therapy.
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Secondary outcome
Patient Reported Outcomes
Change from baseline in fatigue severity, physical functioning, and global health status/quality of life measured by the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire-Core 30 fatigue, physical functioning, and global health status/quality of life scales (EORTC QLQ-C30 - score range 0 to 100; higher scores indicate worse fatigue, better physical functioning, and better general health status/quality of life) in participants with newly diagnosed multiple myeloma ineligible for autologous stem cell transplantation as initial therapy.
Time frame Up to 9 years.
Secondary outcome
Overall Response Rate
Proportion of participants who achieved PR or better according to IMWG 2016 criteria
Time frame Up to 9 years
Secondary outcome
Duration of Response
Time from first documented confirmed response (PR or better) until date of documented PD per IMWG 2016 criteria or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.
Time frame Up to 9 years
Secondary outcome
Time to Response
Time from randomisation until the date of first documented objective response (PR or better), as assessed per IMWG 2016 criteria.
Time frame Up to 9 years
Secondary outcome
MRD negative CR rate
Proportion of participants who have MRD negative status and have a response of CR or sCR (according to the IMWG 2016 criteria) at any time after the date of randomisation and before initiation of subsequent therapy.
Time frame Up to 9 years
Secondary outcome
Rate of sustained MRD negative CR
Proportion of participants who have achieved MRD negative status and have a response of CR or sCR
Time frame Up to 9 years
Secondary outcome
Progression Free Survival 2 (PFS2)
Time from randomisation to progression on next line of therapy, as assessed by Investigator, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first
Time frame Up to 9 years
Dates
| Start date | June 26, 2026 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | January 11, 2029 (estimated) |
| Completion | May 12, 2034 (estimated) |
| First posted | August 14, 2026 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 14, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
1 site is recruiting
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Concord | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Darlinghurst | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | East Melbourne | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Fitzroy | Recruiting | |
| Research Site | Liverpool | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Melbourne | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Murdoch | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Waratah | Not yet recruiting |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Salvador | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | São Paulo | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | São Paulo | Not yet recruiting |
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Calgary | Alberta | Not yet recruiting |
| Research Site | Halifax | Nova Scotia | Not yet recruiting |
| Research Site | Montreal | Quebec | Not yet recruiting |
| Research Site | Ottawa | Ontario | Not yet recruiting |
| Research Site | Sherbrooke | Quebec | Not yet recruiting |
| Research Site | Vancouver | British Columbia | Not yet recruiting |
Denmark
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Århus N | Not yet recruiting |
France
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Lille | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Nantes | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Paris | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Poitiers | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Toulouse | Not yet recruiting |
Germany
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Berlin | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Cologne | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Dresden | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Essen | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Freiburg im Breisgau | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Hamburg | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Kiel | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Leipzig | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Magdeburg | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Mainz | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | München | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Nuremberg | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Würzburg | Not yet recruiting |
Italy
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Bologna | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Milan | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Milan | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Rome | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Rozzano | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Torino | Not yet recruiting |
Japan
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Research Site | Fukuoka | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Kyoto | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Nishinomiya-shi | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Okayama | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Sapporo | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Shibuya-ku | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Shinjuku-ku | Not yet recruiting | |
| Research Site | Suita-shi | Not yet recruiting |
74 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.