NCT06588855ClinicalTrials.gov
A Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of Induction Therapy With Afimkibart (Also Known as RO7790121) in Participants With Moderately to Severely Active Ulcerative Colitis
A Phase III, Multicenter, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Study to Assess the Efficacy and Safety of Induction Therapy With RO7790121 in Patients With Moderately to Severely Active Ulcerative Colitis
In brief
This Phase III, multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of induction therapy with Afimkibart (RO7790121) compared with placebo in participants with moderately to severely active ulcerative colitis (UC).
Phase 3350 participants sought200 sites30 countries
Categories
Registered in 1 registry
- ClinicalTrials.govNCT06588855Open this record at ClinicalTrials.govSynced 2 months ago
One study can be registered in several registries. We show it once and link every record we hold.
Trial information is shown as published by the registry, in its original language.
Interested in this study?
Sign in or create an account to register your interest and follow this study.
How this study is set up
The points below are drawn from the public registry record for this study. Each one cites the field or sentence it came from. A dash (—) means the record does not state something — not that it is missing or wrong. Many well-run studies, especially small ones, leave some of these blank.
- Present: Registered before enrolment beganFirst posted 2024-09-19; recorded start 2024-12-11
- Present: Has a defined primary outcomeA primary outcome measure is listed in the record
- Present: The primary outcome states a time frameThe primary outcome measure records a time frame
- Present: Participants are randomly assignedAllocation is recorded as randomised
- Present: Has a comparison groupThe record lists a placebo or comparator arm, or more than one study arm
- Present: Uses blinding (masking)A masking level is recorded in the record
- Not stated: An ethics committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no ethics-committee field
- Not stated: Regulatory oversight (such as an IND or IDE) is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no regulatory-authorisation field
- Not stated: A data monitoring committee is not stated in the registry recordThis registry's ingested record has no data-monitoring-committee fieldA data monitoring committee is not required for many smaller studies, and its absence here is not unusual.
- Present: No cost to participants is mentioned in the recordChecked the summary, description and eligibility text; no cost-to-participant phrase found
- Present: Sponsor has 534 other studies in this databaseCounted from the lead sponsor named in the record (Hoffmann-La Roche)
- Present: Sponsor has posted results for at least one studyBased on the sponsor’s studies in this database
- The record lists 1 condition.
- Lead sponsor type recorded as: industry.
- Intervention regulatory context: investigational, within a phased regulatory pathway.
Trial stature
Three independent measures of this study, described from its registry record — not a recommendation about it. A rigorous study by investigators nobody has heard of is better evidence than a weak study led by a famous one. How these are scored.
A strong methodological design for a phase 3 study, judged from its ClinicalTrials.gov record.
How this score is built
- Randomised allocation20/20
Participants are randomly allocated between arms
- Blinding13/20
Double-blind
- Control arm13/15
Placebo / sham control arm
- Primary-outcome specificity10/10
Named primary outcome with a defined time frame
- Endpoint type3/10
Surrogate or intermediate endpoint (conservative default)
- Multi-centre8/8
Multi-centre: 200 sites
- Data monitoring committee7/7
A data monitoring committee is in place
- Prospective registration5/5
Registered before the study start date
- Protocol / SAP posted0/5
No protocol or SAP posted to the registry
A medium-sized study, international in scope: 350 participants (target), run at 200 sites, across 30 countries.
How this score is built
- Enrolment25/40
350 participants (target)
- Site count25/25
200 sites
- Country count15/15
30 countries
- Planned duration10/10
Planned over about 75 months
- Sponsor scale10/10
Hoffmann-La Roche has led 529 trials in our corpus
We have no verifiable track record for the investigator named on this trial. That is common for early-career investigators and for records held outside ClinicalTrials.gov — it is not a negative signal.
How this score is built
- Investigator standing0/100
No investigator recorded in the registry for this trial
These describe the registry record only, and today we hold ClinicalTrials.gov data. Absent fields lower a score, and absence often reflects registration practice rather than study quality. A high-stature trial is not necessarily safer or a better choice for you — enrolling in a large definitive trial can mean a higher chance of receiving placebo, while a small early-phase study may be the only route to a new therapy.
Summary
This Phase III, multicenter, double-blind, placebo-controlled study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of induction therapy with Afimkibart (RO7790121) compared with placebo in participants with moderately to severely active ulcerative colitis (UC).
Conditions
- Moderately to Severely Active Ulcerative Colitis
Eligibility
| Sex | All |
|---|---|
| Ages | 16 Years – 80 Years |
| Healthy volunteers | No |
Eligibility as written in the registry
Eligibility in plain statements
This record's criteria have not been broken into separate statements yet. The registry text above is complete and is the authoritative version.
Study design
| Study type | Interventional |
|---|---|
| Phase | Phase 3 |
| Allocation | Randomised |
| Intervention model | PARALLEL |
| Primary purpose | TREATMENT |
| Masking | DOUBLE (2) |
| Enrolment | 350 participants sought |
Sponsor and collaborators
- Hoffmann-La Roche Sponsor
Arms and interventions
- AfimkibartEXPERIMENTAL
Participants will receive afimkibart intravenously (IV) followed by afimkibart subcutaneous (SC) injection.
- PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATOR
Participants will receive placebo IV followed by placebo SC.
Interventions
- Drug Afimkibart
Participants will receive afimkibart IV followed by afimkibart subcutaneous SC injection.
- Drug Placebo
Placebo matching IV afimkibart. Placebo matching SC afimkibart.
Outcome measures
Primary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Clinical Remission
Percentage of participants achieving Modified Mayo Score (mMS) \<=2 with stool frequency subscore (SFS) = 0 or 1 (up to 1-2 stools more than normal), rectal bleeding subscore (RBS) = 0 (no blood seen) and endoscopic subscore (ES) = 0 or 1 (normal appearance of mucosa or mild disease) at Week 12. mMS is a composite score of ulcerative colitis disease activity, given by the sum of three subscores: SFS, RBS and ES. Each subscore is measured on a scale from 0 to 3, with higher values associated with greater severity.
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Change in Partial Modified Mayo Score (pmMS)
Change in pmMS from baseline to Week 2. pmMS is a composite score of ulcerative colitis signs and symptoms activity given by the sum of the SFS and RBS. SFS is measured on a scale from 0 (normal number of stools) to 3 (5 or more stools than normal). RBS is measured on a scale from 0 (no blood seen) to 3 (blood alone passed).
Time frame From baseline to Week 2
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Improvement
Percentage of participants achieving endoscopic subscore of 0 or 1 (normal appearance of mucosa or mild disease) at Week 12.
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Remission
Percentage of participants achieving endoscopic subscore of 0 (normal appearance of mucosa) at Week 12.
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Clinical Response
Percentage of participants achieving a decrease in mMS of at least 2 points and 30% from baseline and either a decrease in RBS \>= 1 or RBS = 0 or 1 (no blood seen or stool with streaks of blood) at Week 12. mMS is a composite score of ulcerative colitis disease activity, given by the sum of three subscores: SFS, RBS and ES. SFS is measured on a scale from 0 (normal number of stools) to 3 (5 or more stools than normal). RBS is measured on a scale from 0 (no blood seen) to 3 (blood alone passed). ES is measured on a scale from 0 (normal appearance of mucosa) to 3 (severe disease).
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Histologic Improvement
Percentage of participants achieving a histologic improvement, defined as Geboes \<=3.1 at Week 12. Geboes is a grading system for histologic ulcerative colitis disease activity with scores ranging from 0 (no activity) to 5.4 (ulcer or granulation tissue).
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Histologic Remission
Percentage of participants achieving a histologic remission, defined as Geboes \<2B at Week 12. Geboes is a grading system for histologic ulcerative colitis disease activity with scores ranging from 0 (no activity) to 5.4 (ulcer or granulation tissue).
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Participants with Histologic-Endoscopic Mucosal Improvement
Percentage of participants achieving Geboes \<= 3.1 and ES = 0 or 1 (normal appearance of mucosa or mild disease) at Week 12. Geboes is a grading system for histologic ulcerative colitis disease activity with scores ranging from 0 (no activity) to 5.4 (ulcer or granulation tissue).
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Histologic-Endoscopic Remission
Percentage of participants achieving Geboes \< 2 and ES = 0 or 1 (normal appearance of mucosa or mild disease) at Week 12. Geboes is a grading system for histologic ulcerative colitis disease activity with scores ranging from 0 (no activity) to 5.4 (ulcer or granulation tissue).
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Clinical Remission: Among Biomarker-Defined Subgroups of Participants
Percentage of participants achieving mMS \<= 2 with SFS = 0 or 1 (up to 1-2 stools more than normal), RBS = 0 (no blood seen) and ES = 0 or 1 (normal appearance of mucosa or mild disease) at Week 12 in biomarker-defined subgroups. mMS is a composite score of ulcerative colitis disease activity, given by the sum of three subscores: SFS, RBS and ES. Each subscore is measured on a scale from 0 to 3, with higher values associated with greater severity.
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Percentage of Participants with Endoscopic Improvement: Among Biomarker-Defined Subgroups of Participants
Percentage of participants achieving endoscopic subscore of 0 or 1 (normal appearance of mucosa or mild disease) at Week 12 in biomarker-defined subgroups.
Time frame At Week 12
Secondary outcome
Change in Bowel Urgency
Change in bowel urgency from baseline through Week 12. Bowel urgency is measured on a scale from 0 (None) to 4 (Severe).
Time frame Baseline through Week 12
Secondary outcome
Change in Abdominal Pain
Change in abdominal pain from baseline through Week 12. Abdominal pain is measured on a scale from 0 (None) to 4 (Severe).
Time frame Baseline through Week 12
Secondary outcome
Change in Fatigue
Change in fatigue as measured by the Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-Fatigue) from baseline to Week 12. FACIT-Fatigue is a 13-item self-reported assessment of the level and impact of fatigue. The overall FACIT-Fatigue score ranges between 0 and 52, with higher scores associated with better quality of life concerns related to fatigue.
Time frame Baseline to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Change in Health-Related Quality of Life
Change in Inflammatory Bowel Disease Questionnaire (IBDQ) score from baseline to Week 12. IBDQ is a 32-item self-reported assessment of health-related quality of life in participants with inflammatory bowel disease. The overall IBDQ score ranges from 32 to 224, with higher scores associated with better health-related quality of life.
Time frame Baseline to Week 12
Secondary outcome
Overall Change in UC Symptoms
Patient Global Impression of Change (PGIC) from baseline to Weeks 2 and 12. PGIC measures overall change in ulcerative colitis symptoms from "Much better" to"Much worse".
Time frame Baseline to Week 2 and Week 12
Secondary outcome
Overall Severity in UC Symptoms
Patient Global Impression of Severity (PGIS) from baseline to Weeks 2 and 12. PGIS measures severity of ulcerative colitis symptoms from "None" to "Very severe".
Time frame Baseline to Week 2 and Week 12
Secondary outcome
Incidence and Severity of Adverse Events (AEs)
Incidence and severity of AEs, including serious AEs, AEs leading to treatment discontinuation and AEs of special interest.
Time frame Up to 30 Weeks after Baseline
Dates
| Start date | December 11, 2024 (actual) |
|---|---|
| Primary completion | January 30, 2027 (estimated) |
| Completion | January 30, 2031 (estimated) |
| First posted | September 19, 2024 (actual) |
| Last updated | August 5, 2026 |
| Results posted | Not stated in the registry record |
| Status last verified | August 2026 |
Actual means the event happened. Estimated means the sponsor expects it. The two mean different things.
Locations
162 sites are recruiting
Argentina
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital Britanico | Ciudad Autonoma Bs As | Recruiting | |
| Instituto Medico CER | Quilmes | Recruiting |
Australia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Footscray Hospital | Footscray | Victoria | Withdrawn |
| Coral Sea Clinical Research Institute | Mackay | Queensland | Withdrawn |
| Macquarie University Hospital | Macquarie Park | New South Wales | Active, not recruiting |
| Royal Melbourne Hospital | Parkville | Victoria | Active, not recruiting |
Austria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ordensklinikum Linz Barmherzige Schwestern | Linz | Active, not recruiting | |
| Klinikum Wels-Grieskirchen | Wels | Withdrawn |
Belgium
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| AZORG Campus Aalst-Moorselbaan | Aalst | Withdrawn | |
| CHU St Pierre (St Pierre) | Brussels | Active, not recruiting | |
| Cliniques Universitaires St-Luc | Brussels | Active, not recruiting | |
| AZ Oostende | Ostend | Withdrawn |
Brazil
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Newdata Clinical Trials | Aracaju | Sergipe | Recruiting |
| CECIP - Centro de Estudos Clínicos do Interior Paulista | Jaú | São Paulo | Recruiting |
| Hospital Moinhos de Vento | Porto Alegre | Rio Grande do Sul | Recruiting |
| Hospital Sírio-Libanês | São Paulo | São Paulo | Withdrawn |
| Centro Paulista de Investigacao Clinica - CEPIC | São Paulo | São Paulo | Recruiting |
| Instituto Lobus Unimed Volta Redonda | Volta Redonda | Rio de Janeiro | Recruiting |
Bulgaria
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| MC " Sveti Ivan Rilski Chudotvorets- 2010 | Plovdiv | Recruiting | |
| "City Clinic UMHAC" EOOD | Sofia | Recruiting | |
| Second Multiprofile Hospital For Active Treatment-Sofia | Sofia Town | Sofia | Withdrawn |
Canada
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Barrie GI Associates | Barrie | Ontario | Recruiting |
| GNRR Digestive Clinics and Research Center Inc. | Brampton | Ontario | Withdrawn |
| LDDI Clinical Trials Inc. | London | Ontario | Recruiting |
| London Health Sciences Centre Uni Campus | London | Ontario | Recruiting |
| CIUSSS-de-l?Est-de-l?Île-de-Montréal | Montreal | Quebec | Recruiting |
| TIDHI Innovation Inc. | Toronto | Ontario | Recruiting |
Chile
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Centro de Investigación Clínica UC-CICUC | Santiago | Recruiting |
China
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beijing No.6 Hospital | Beijing | Beijing Municipality | Recruiting |
| Third Xiangya Hospital Centrel South University | Changsha | Recruiting | |
| West China Hospital of Sichuan University | Chengdu | Recruiting | |
| The second Affiliated Hospital of Guangzhou Medical University | Guangzhou | Recruiting | |
| Guangzhou First People's Hospital | Guangzhou | Recruiting | |
| Sir Run Run Shaw Hospital Zhejiang University | Hangzhou | Recruiting | |
| Huizhou Central People's Hospital | Huizhou | Recruiting | |
| The First Affilliated Hospital of Kunming Medical University | Kunming | Yunnan | Recruiting |
| The Second Affiliated Hospital of Nanchang University | Nanchang | Recruiting | |
| The First Affiliate Hospital of Guangxi Medical University | Nanning | Recruiting | |
| The First Affiliated Hospital of Ningbo University | Ningbo | Recruiting | |
| The Affiliated Hospital of Medical College Qingdao University | Qingdao | Recruiting | |
| Ruijin Hospital Shanghai Jiaotong University School of Medicine | Shanghai | Recruiting | |
| Xinhua Hospital Affiliated to Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine | Shanghai | Recruiting | |
| Shengjing Hospital of China Medical University | Shenyang | Recruiting | |
| First Affiliated Hospital of Soochow University | Suzhou | Recruiting | |
| The First Affiliated Hospital of Xiamen University | Xiamen | Active, not recruiting | |
| Zhongshan Hospital Xiamen University | Xiamen | Recruiting |
Croatia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Borzan Polyclinic | Osijek | Recruiting | |
| Clinical Hospital Center Sestre Milosrdnice | Zagreb | Withdrawn |
Czechia
| Facility | City | State or region | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hepato-Gastroenterologie HK, s.r.o. | Hradec Králové | Recruiting | |
| Fakultni nemocnice Ostrava | Ostrava - Poruba | Withdrawn |
150 further sites are listed in the registry record.
Study documents
No documents are linked in this registry record.
Changes over time
No changes have been recorded since we first ingested this record.
A change is recorded each time the sponsor updates the registry record. Status, dates, enrolment and sites appear here as they move.